BambooHR vs Rippling (2026): features, security and which one to buy
BambooHR and Rippling compared on what they do, who they suit, their key features, pros and cons, and what each vendor publishes on security, admin and contract terms, with every fact checked on October 24, 2026.
BambooHR or Rippling: the short answer
Choose BambooHR if
- Small and mid-size US companies that want HRIS first and light recruiting in the same system.
- Teams of 25 or fewer that benefit from the flat monthly rate.
Choose Rippling if
- Companies already running payroll and HR on Rippling that want app access tied to employee records.
- Teams wanting automatic account provisioning and offboarding.
What are BambooHR and Rippling?
BambooHR
Per-employee HRIS for small and mid-size US companies with a built-in ATS capped by job openings per tier. Choose it when HR records come first and recruiting is a lighter need. Companies with 25 or fewer employees get a flat $250 monthly rate. Check the open-job cap, which is 5, 25 or 50 by tier, and test whether its reporting satisfies your hiring managers.
Rippling
HR, payroll, IT and spend suite whose app management handles SSO, provisioning and offboarding for employee apps. Best for firms that want app access, provisioning and offboarding driven by the same employee records that feed payroll. Pricing starts at $8 per employee monthly plus a base fee, with modules quoted separately. Reviewers say initial setup is complex, so plan the first weeks.
BambooHR vs Rippling: features compared
| What it is | Per-employee HRIS for small and mid-size US companies with a built-in ATS capped by job openings per tier. | HR, payroll, IT and spend suite whose app management handles SSO, provisioning and offboarding for employee apps. |
|---|---|---|
| Best for | Small and mid-size US companies that want HRIS first and light recruiting in the same system. | Companies already running payroll and HR on Rippling that want app access tied to employee records. |
| Company size | Small to mid-size; flat rates tuned to 25 or fewer employees. | Small to enterprise (suite) |
| Core HR and employee records | HR data and reporting in Core; custom dashboards and analytics in Elite. | Not published |
| Payroll integration or built-in payroll | Payroll add-on, US employees only. | Payroll, Contractors, Global Payroll, EOR listed as products on pricing page. |
| Onboarding and offboarding workflows | Hiring and onboarding included in Core. | Not published |
| Time off and attendance | Time-off tracking in Core; Time & Attendance is a paid add-on. | Not published |
| Benefits administration | Benefits tracking in Core; full Benefits Administration is a paid add-on (US only) | Benefits Administration and PEO listed as products. |
| Performance and engagement | Included in Pro and Elite (360 reviews, 1:1s); engagement tools in Core. | Performance, Surveys, Learning listed as products. |
| Integrations | Not published | App catalog for SSO and provisioning (count not confirmed by the vendor) |
| Starting price | $250/mo flat (Core, 25 or fewer employees); $10 to $10.25 per employee per month above that | $8 per employee per month plus monthly base fee |
| G2 rating | 4.4 (5,796 reviews) | 4.7 (1,116 reviews) |
Pros and cons
BambooHR
Pros
- Clean interface and easy navigation.
- Fast, straightforward onboarding and good support scores.
Cons
- Limited features and weak customization.
- Reporting and approval options feel thin.
Rippling
Pros
- Intuitive; apps ready on day one for new hires.
- Offboarding automatically revokes app access.
Cons
- Initial setup can be complex.
BambooHR vs Rippling pricing
BambooHR starts at $250/mo flat (Core, 25 or fewer employees); $10 to $10.25 per employee per month above that and Rippling at $8 per employee per month plus monthly base fee. The pricing bases differ, so compare the full quote for your team rather than the entry price.
| Pricing model | per employee | per employee |
|---|---|---|
| Per seat per month | $10 to $10.25 per employee per month (Core); flat $250/mo if 25 or fewer. | From $8 per employee per month plus monthly base fee (per-product prices not published) |
| Billing | Monthly and annual. | Quote. |
| 20 users per year | Core: 20 employees is under the 25 threshold, so $250 x 12 = $3,000 per year (flat rate) | Not published |
| Add-ons | Payroll (US only); Benefits Administration (US only); Time & Attendance. | Modular products priced separately (HRIS, Payroll, IT, Spend, etc.) |
Security, admin and contract: BambooHR vs Rippling
What each vendor states publicly about single sign-on, provisioning, audit logs, data location and the contract. A blank is a question for the sales call, not a no.
| SAML SSO | SAML 2.0 via installable plugin app; plan not stated. | Not published |
|---|---|---|
| Contract | Month-to-month or extended term; volume discounts automatic; nonprofits get 15% off. | US VC-backed startups may get 6 months free; custom quote required. |
Differences most comparisons miss
Worth knowing about BambooHR
- Job openings are capped by tier: 5 (Core), 25 (Pro), 50 (Elite); the ATS is a feature, not a separate add-on.
- Companies with 25 or fewer employees pay flat $250, $425 or $650 per month.
- Payroll and Benefits Administration are US-only add-ons; bundling both saves 15% per the pricing page.
- Pricing header and FAQ disagree by $0.25 to $0.50 per employee on Core and Pro.
Worth knowing about Rippling
- The $8 per employee price is the suite entry point, not a SaaS management price; IT and spend modules are quoted separately.
- No evidence found that Rippling discovers unsanctioned apps; it manages apps routed through its own SSO.
- G2 reviews Rippling IT and Rippling Spend as separate products, so one rating does not cover both.
- Value comes from HRIS-driven triggers (hire, role change, exit) rather than usage analytics.
BambooHR vs Rippling: frequently asked questions
Which is better, BambooHR or Rippling?
It depends on the team. BambooHR is the stronger pick for small and mid-size US companies that want HRIS first and light recruiting in the same system, while Rippling suits companies already running payroll and HR on Rippling that want app access tied to employee records. Compare the feature rows above against your must-haves before you look at price.
Do BambooHR and Rippling support SAML single sign-on?
BambooHR: SAML 2.0 via installable plugin app; plan not stated. Rippling: not stated on its public pages. Confirm the plan in writing before you compare prices.
Sources
Both columns use the same sources: vendor pricing and product pages, documentation, G2 and company records, checked on October 24, 2026. Full source lists are on the BambooHR and Rippling reviews.