Drata vs Vanta (2026): features, security and which one to buy
Drata and Vanta compared on what they do, who they suit, their key features, pros and cons, and what each vendor publishes on security, admin and contract terms, with every fact checked on October 24, 2026.
Drata or Vanta: the short answer
Choose Drata if
- Companies already using Drata for compliance that want vendor risk in the same system.
- Startups and SMBs chasing SOC 2 or ISO 27001.
Choose Vanta if
- Companies already buying Vanta for SOC 2 or ISO 27001 that want vendor review in the same tool.
- Small security teams who want AI-assisted questionnaire handling.
What are Drata and Vanta?
Drata
Compliance automation platform (SOC 2, ISO 27001 and more) with a separate third-party risk management module. Startups and SMBs already preparing for SOC 2 or ISO 27001 in Drata can handle supplier reviews in that same system. Questionnaires are automated, and vendors get inherent and residual scores. Pricing for the separate TPRM module is by quote, so a standalone buyer should compare dedicated tools.
Vanta
Compliance automation platform that sells vendor risk management as an add-on to its SOC 2 and ISO 27001 plans. If Vanta already handles your SOC 2 or ISO 27001 audit, supplier reviews can live there too. Questionnaire automation is limited to 25 a year on Plus and 144 on Professional. Monitoring, AI security reviews and the API cost extra, so total spend rises. Standalone buyers should compare dedicated products.
Drata vs Vanta: features compared
| What it is | Compliance automation platform (SOC 2, ISO 27001 and more) with a separate third-party risk management module. | Compliance automation platform that sells vendor risk management as an add-on to its SOC 2 and ISO 27001 plans. |
|---|---|---|
| Best for | Companies already using Drata for compliance that want vendor risk in the same system. | Companies already buying Vanta for SOC 2 or ISO 27001 that want vendor review in the same tool. |
| Questionnaires / assessments | Vendor questionnaire automation. | AI questionnaire automation: 25/yr on Plus, 144/yr on Professional. |
| Continuous monitoring | Not published | Continuous vendor risk monitoring sold as add-on. |
| Evidence review (AI) | Agentic scoring, evidence collection and follow-up (vendor description) | AI-powered security reviews sold as add-on. |
| Vendor tiering | Inherent and residual risk scoring, custom risk rules. | Vendor inventory; tiering detail not confirmed by the vendor. |
| Framework coverage | SOC 2, ISO 27001, HIPAA, GDPR, Cyber Essentials; also DORA, FedRAMP, CMMC, ISO 42001 listed. | SOC 2, ISO 27001, GDPR, HIPAA, HITRUST, NIST AI RMF, ISO 42001, custom. |
| Remediation workflow | Third-party risk register, audit package sync. | Vendors page on all plans; TPRM REST API is an add-on. |
| Starting price | Contact sales | Contact sales |
| G2 rating | 4.7 (1,329 reviews) | 4.6 (2,345 reviews) |
Pros and cons
Drata
Pros
- Support is responsive.
- Onboarding and guided setup are smooth.
Cons
- Not confirmed by the vendor from sources; check G2 cons for pricing and integration gaps.
Vanta
Pros
- Automation and ease of use.
- Compliance features save manual work.
Cons
- Cost is high for smaller businesses.
- Interface not always intuitive.
Drata vs Vanta pricing
Drata starts at Contact sales and Vanta at Contact sales. The pricing bases differ, so compare the full quote for your team rather than the entry price.
| Pricing model | custom | custom (tiered plans plus add-ons) |
|---|---|---|
| Billing | Quote. | Quote. |
| Add-ons | Additional Frameworks; User Access Review (add-on on Foundation/Advanced per plan list; comparison table says Enterprise only); Risk Management Pro (Advanced) | Access management; Security reviews; TPRM: vendor security reviews, continuous monitoring, REST API. |
Security, admin and contract: Drata vs Vanta
What each vendor states publicly about single sign-on, provisioning, audit logs, data location and the contract. A blank is a question for the sales call, not a no.
| SAML SSO | Included in all three Compliance tiers (Foundation, Advanced, Enterprise) and all Trust Center tiers. | Listed under Platform features on pricing page; plan not stated by the vendor. |
|---|---|---|
| SCIM provisioning | Trust Center Advanced and Enterprise (not Foundation); Compliance SCIM not stated. | Listed under Platform features; plan not stated. |
| Audit logs | Audit Logging listed in product security; per-plan availability not stated. | Not published |
| Data residency | Not stated on trust center. | Not published |
| DPA | Yes, listed under Legal on trust.drata.com (access via Get access step) | Not published |
Differences most comparisons miss
Worth knowing about Drata
- TPRM is sold as its own module, and Agentic TPRM Assessment is an add-on even on the Enterprise compliance plan.
- Foundation compliance tier caps at 50 FTEs and one pre-mapped framework.
- Drata's rating is for the whole compliance product; vendor risk reviews are a small slice.
- Trust Center and AI questionnaire assistance (up to 100 questionnaires on Foundation) are for answering customers' questionnaires, not assessing vendors.
Worth knowing about Vanta
- AI security reviews, continuous monitoring, vendor inventory and the TPRM API are add-ons, not in base plans.
- Questionnaire automation is capped at 25 per year on Plus and 144 on Professional.
- The Vendors page itself is included on all plans per the help center.
- Vendr median contract about $20,000/yr for Vanta overall (not the VRM add-on alone)
Drata vs Vanta: frequently asked questions
Which is better, Drata or Vanta?
It depends on the team. Drata is the stronger pick for companies already using Drata for compliance that want vendor risk in the same system, while Vanta suits companies already buying Vanta for SOC 2 or ISO 27001 that want vendor review in the same tool. Compare the feature rows above against your must-haves before you look at price.
Do Drata and Vanta support SAML single sign-on?
Drata: included in all three Compliance tiers (Foundation, Advanced, Enterprise) and all Trust Center tiers. Vanta: listed under Platform features on pricing page; plan not stated by the vendor. Confirm the plan in writing before you compare prices.
Sources
Both columns use the same sources: vendor pricing and product pages, documentation, G2 and company records, checked on October 24, 2026. Full source lists are on the Drata and Vanta reviews.