Expensify vs Ramp (2026): features, security and which one to buy

Expensify and Ramp compared on what they do, who they suit, their key features, pros and cons, and what each vendor publishes on security, admin and contract terms, with every fact checked on October 24, 2026.

Researched by Max Benz · Facts checked October 24, 2026 · How we research

Expensify or Ramp: the short answer

Choose Expensify if

Expensify review · alternatives

Choose Ramp if

  • Companies that want cards, expenses and AP in one tool and are fine adopting its card.
  • Teams that want a free entry tier with QuickBooks Online or Xero.

Ramp review

What are Expensify and Ramp?

Expensify

Expensify is a receipt-scanning expense reporting app for small teams, sold per member. Small teams whose main pain is chasing receipts will care about the scanning workflow, which is billed per member. Pricing needs a quote. If you consider the Expensify Card, test how its transactions export to QuickBooks Online, NetSuite, Xero or Sage Intacct.

Ramp

Corporate card and spend platform with a free tier and a paid Plus plan, where purchase orders come from a Procurement add-on. Companies content to adopt its card can begin free with QuickBooks Online or Xero, then move to Plus at $15 per user monthly plus a platform fee for NetSuite, Sage Intacct and approval workflows. Purchase orders require the Procurement add-on. Reviews praise receipt matching and mention occasional slow support.

Expensify vs Ramp: features compared

Expensify and Ramp, checked October 24, 2026
ExpensifyRamp
What it isExpensify is a receipt-scanning expense reporting app for small teams, sold per member.Corporate card and spend platform with a free tier and a paid Plus plan, where purchase orders come from a Procurement add-on.
Best forCompanies that want cards, expenses and AP in one tool and are fine adopting its card.
Approval workflows and policy controlsNot publishedApproval workflows on Plus.
Corporate cardsExpensify Card exists (default export accounts documented)Corporate card included on all plans.
Accounting integrationsCard export to QuickBooks Online, NetSuite, Xero, Sage Intacct, QuickBooks Desktop, FinancialForce (per card settings page)Free: QuickBooks Online, Xero. Plus: NetSuite, Sage Intacct. Enterprise: Workday, Oracle Fusion.
Reimbursements and paymentsNot published1099 filing $0.65 per IRS filing, free state filing.
Travel and mileage trackingNot published24/7 phone support for travel bookings on Plus.
Free plan or trialNoFree plan, Free trial
Starting priceContact sales$0 (Free); Plus $15 per user per month plus platform fee
G2 rating4.5 (5,654 reviews)4.8 (2,492 reviews)

Pros and cons

Expensify

Ramp

Pros

  • Easy expense reporting and automatic receipt matching with real-time alerts.
  • Accounting integrations (QuickBooks, Xero, NetSuite) save time at month end close.
  • Helpful and responsive customer support in many reviews.
  • Efficiency gains from one place for cards, expenses and spend controls.

Cons

  • Support can be slow to resolve issues and hard to reach a person in some reviews.
  • Card-first model: fraud handling can mean replacing the card; sudden limit decisions reported.
  • Occasional accounting integration snags, especially QuickBooks rules and memos.
  • Authorization holds slow to drop off.

Expensify vs Ramp pricing

Expensify starts at Contact sales and Ramp at $0 (Free); Plus $15 per user per month plus platform fee. The pricing bases differ, so compare the full quote for your team rather than the entry price.

Published pricing, checked October 24, 2026
ExpensifyRamp
Pricing modelNot publishedper user plus platform fee
Per seat per monthNot published$15 per user per month on Plus (plus platform fee by team size, amount not published)
BillingNot publishedMonthly and annual.
20 users per yearNot published$3,600 (Plus)
Add-onsNot publishedProcurement add-on on Plus/Enterprise; Accounts Receivable add-on; 1099 filing $0.65 per IRS filing.

Security, admin and contract: Expensify vs Ramp

What each vendor states publicly about single sign-on, provisioning, audit logs, data location and the contract. A blank is a question for the sales call, not a no.

Checked October 24, 2026
ExpensifyRamp
SAML SSONot publishedSupported (Okta, Google, Microsoft Azure); plan not stated.
Audit logsNot publishedPlus and Enterprise.
ContractNot publishedPlus has 30-day free trial, switch plans any time; Enterprise annual, via sales.

Differences most comparisons miss

Worth knowing about Ramp

  • PO functions are a paid add-on and need Plus, so the $0 tier has no purchase orders.
  • Plus fee has a platform component based on team size that the page does not quantify.
  • ERP depth rises by tier: NetSuite and Sage Intacct only from Plus, Workday and Oracle from Enterprise.
  • Procurement can match card transactions to POs, tying approval to actual spend.

Expensify vs Ramp: frequently asked questions

Which is better, Expensify or Ramp?

It depends on the team. Expensify is the stronger pick for expensify is a receipt-scanning expense reporting app for small teams, sold per member, while Ramp suits companies that want cards, expenses and AP in one tool and are fine adopting its card. Compare the feature rows above against your must-haves before you look at price.

Do Expensify and Ramp support SAML single sign-on?

Expensify: not stated on its public pages. Ramp: supported (Okta, Google, Microsoft Azure); plan not stated. Confirm the plan in writing before you compare prices.

Can I try Expensify and Ramp for free?

Expensify: no free plan or trial is published. Ramp: free plan, free trial.

Sources

Both columns use the same sources: vendor pricing and product pages, documentation, G2 and company records, checked on October 24, 2026. Full source lists are on the Expensify and Ramp reviews.