Hootsuite vs Buffer (2026): features, security and which one to buy

Hootsuite and Buffer compared on what they do, who they suit, their key features, pros and cons, and what each vendor publishes on security, admin and contract terms, with every fact checked on October 24, 2026.

Researched by Max Benz · Facts checked October 24, 2026 · How we research

Hootsuite or Buffer: the short answer

Choose Hootsuite if

  • Teams that need scheduling, inbox and listening in one suite and can budget per user.
  • Organizations wanting an annual-invoiced Enterprise contract.

Hootsuite review · alternatives

Choose Buffer if

  • Creators and small businesses with a few channels.
  • Teams wanting a free tier to start.

Buffer review

What are Hootsuite and Buffer?

Hootsuite

Per-user social media suite covering scheduling, a unified inbox, analytics and listening, with SSO reserved for Enterprise. Hootsuite is a per-user suite that brings scheduling, a unified inbox, analytics and listening into one product. It offers three self-serve tiers plus Enterprise, where SSO and advanced listening are reserved.

Buffer

Low-cost, per-channel social scheduler with a free plan, aimed at creators and small teams. Buffer is a low-cost scheduler that charges per connected channel and offers a free plan. Reviewers praise its ease of use and clean calendar, and it targets creators and small businesses that manage only a few channels.

Hootsuite vs Buffer: features compared

Hootsuite and Buffer, checked October 24, 2026
HootsuiteBuffer
What it isPer-user social media suite covering scheduling, a unified inbox, analytics and listening, with SSO reserved for Enterprise.Low-cost, per-channel social scheduler with a free plan, aimed at creators and small teams.
Best forTeams that need scheduling, inbox and listening in one suite and can budget per user.Creators and small businesses with a few channels.
Company sizeSmall teams to enterprise (three self-serve tiers plus Enterprise)Solo creators to small teams.
Scheduling and publishingScheduler, bulk scheduling, best-time-to-post recommendations; bulk scheduling unavailable during the trial.Unlimited scheduled posts on paid plans; 10 per channel on Free; ideas library.
Supported networksSays 'all major social networks' without a list; listening covers 30+ networks.G2 reviewers name Facebook, Instagram, LinkedIn, Pinterest, X; full current list not confirmed by the vendor.
Analytics and reportingPost performance, sentiment, industry benchmarks, scheduled and custom reports; GA4 and Adobe Analytics ties on Enterprise.Advanced analytics on Essentials and Team.
Social inbox and engagementUnified inbox for public and private messages with saved replies, auto-tagging, assignment and skill-based routing.Not published
Social listeningTrend, hashtag and topic search plus sentiment; advanced listening on Enterprise.Not published
Approvals and collaborationApproval workflows listed as a feature; plan gating not stated on the page.Approval workflows and custom permissions on Team only.
Free plan or trialFree trialFree plan, Free trial
Starting price$99 per user per month (Standard, annual billing basis)$5 per channel per month (Essentials)
G2 rating4.3 (7,400 reviews)4.3 (1,039 reviews)

Pros and cons

Hootsuite

Pros

  • Manage many networks from one dashboard.
  • Cross-network scheduling.

Cons

  • Limited Instagram features.
  • Price seen as high versus competitors.

Buffer

Pros

  • Easy to use.
  • Clean calendar and scheduling.

Cons

  • Limited analytics.
  • Pricing grows with channel count.

Hootsuite vs Buffer pricing

Hootsuite starts at $99 per user per month (Standard, annual billing basis) and Buffer at $5 per channel per month (Essentials). The pricing bases differ, so compare the full quote for your team rather than the entry price.

Published pricing, checked October 24, 2026
HootsuiteBuffer
Pricing modelper userper channel
Per seat per month$99 (Standard, 'from', annual billing basis)Not published
BillingMonthly and annual.Monthly and annual.
20 users per year$23,760 (Standard)Priced per channel, not per user. Example: 20 channels on Team = $120 x 20 = $2,400 per year (Team has unlimited users)
Add-onsExtra user seats (price not published)Not published

Security, admin and contract: Hootsuite vs Buffer

What each vendor states publicly about single sign-on, provisioning, audit logs, data location and the contract. A blank is a question for the sales call, not a no.

Checked October 24, 2026
HootsuiteBuffer
SAML SSOEnterprise only.Not published
ContractPlans page says cancel anytime, no commitment; Enterprise annual plans can be invoiced.Monthly available; switch monthly/annual anytime with proration; 14-day trial.

Differences most comparisons miss

Worth knowing about Hootsuite

  • Card prices assume annual billing; monthly billing costs more per user.
  • Trial caps posting at 10 to 20 posts per organization per day and blocks bulk scheduling.
  • SSO is Enterprise only; Enterprise is quote-only with a demo, not a trial.
  • Nonprofit discounts are available by application.

Worth knowing about Buffer

  • Upgrading from Free means paying for all connected channels, including the original three.
  • Annual discount shown as 'save 2 months' (about 17%) on cards but 20% in the FAQ.
  • API keys: 1 on Free, 3 on Essentials, 5 on Team.
  • Accepts cards only: no PayPal, checks or bank transfer.

Hootsuite vs Buffer: frequently asked questions

Which is better, Hootsuite or Buffer?

It depends on the team. Hootsuite is the stronger pick for teams that need scheduling, inbox and listening in one suite and can budget per user, while Buffer suits creators and small businesses with a few channels. Compare the feature rows above against your must-haves before you look at price.

Do Hootsuite and Buffer support SAML single sign-on?

Hootsuite: enterprise only. Buffer: not stated on its public pages. Confirm the plan in writing before you compare prices.

Can I try Hootsuite and Buffer for free?

Hootsuite: free trial. Buffer: free plan, free trial.

Sources

Both columns use the same sources: vendor pricing and product pages, documentation, G2 and company records, checked on October 24, 2026. Full source lists are on the Hootsuite and Buffer reviews.