OneTrust vs Vanta (2026): features, security and which one to buy
OneTrust and Vanta compared on what they do, who they suit, their key features, pros and cons, and what each vendor publishes on security, admin and contract terms, with every fact checked on October 24, 2026.
OneTrust or Vanta: the short answer
Choose OneTrust if
- Enterprises that already use OneTrust for privacy or GRC and want vendor risk on the same platform.
- Teams needing ethics and compliance due diligence (PEP, sanctions, adverse media screening)
Choose Vanta if
- Companies already buying Vanta for SOC 2 or ISO 27001 that want vendor review in the same tool.
- Small security teams who want AI-assisted questionnaire handling.
What are OneTrust and Vanta?
OneTrust
Broad privacy, GRC and third-party risk platform whose Third-Party Management module runs supplier due diligence and assessments. Enterprises that already run privacy or GRC on OneTrust can extend it to suppliers, including PEP, sanctions and adverse-media screening. Monitoring depends on ratings integrations such as BitSight or UpGuard. Reviewers describe a broad product, a learning curve, weak default dashboards and a high price.
Vanta
Compliance automation platform that sells vendor risk management as an add-on to its SOC 2 and ISO 27001 plans. If Vanta already handles your SOC 2 or ISO 27001 audit, supplier reviews can live there too. Questionnaire automation is limited to 25 a year on Plus and 144 on Professional. Monitoring, AI security reviews and the API cost extra, so total spend rises. Standalone buyers should compare dedicated products.
OneTrust vs Vanta: features compared
| What it is | Broad privacy, GRC and third-party risk platform whose Third-Party Management module runs supplier due diligence and assessments. | Compliance automation platform that sells vendor risk management as an add-on to its SOC 2 and ISO 27001 plans. |
|---|---|---|
| Best for | Enterprises that already use OneTrust for privacy or GRC and want vendor risk on the same platform. | Companies already buying Vanta for SOC 2 or ISO 27001 that want vendor review in the same tool. |
| Questionnaires / assessments | Automated supplier risk assessment workflows. | AI questionnaire automation: 25/yr on Plus, 144/yr on Professional. |
| Continuous monitoring | Via integrations with security-rating vendors (BitSight, UpGuard, Recorded Future, RiskRecon) | Continuous vendor risk monitoring sold as add-on. |
| Evidence review (AI) | Not published | AI-powered security reviews sold as add-on. |
| Vendor tiering | Not published | Vendor inventory; tiering detail not confirmed by the vendor. |
| Framework coverage | Not published | SOC 2, ISO 27001, GDPR, HIPAA, HITRUST, NIST AI RMF, ISO 42001, custom. |
| Remediation workflow | Automated workflows across supplier due diligence lifecycle. | Vendors page on all plans; TPRM REST API is an add-on. |
| Starting price | Contact sales | Contact sales |
| G2 rating | 4.5 (5 reviews) | 4.6 (2,345 reviews) |
Pros and cons
OneTrust
Pros
- Workflow automation.
- Strong customer success and support.
Cons
- Broad product with a steep learning curve.
- Out-of-box reporting and dashboards seen as weak.
- Pricing called high.
Vanta
Pros
- Automation and ease of use.
- Compliance features save manual work.
Cons
- Cost is high for smaller businesses.
- Interface not always intuitive.
OneTrust vs Vanta pricing
OneTrust starts at Contact sales and Vanta at Contact sales. The pricing bases differ, so compare the full quote for your team rather than the entry price.
| Pricing model | custom | custom (tiered plans plus add-ons) |
|---|---|---|
| Billing | Quote. | Quote. |
| Add-ons | Not published | Access management; Security reviews; TPRM: vendor security reviews, continuous monitoring, REST API. |
Security, admin and contract: OneTrust vs Vanta
What each vendor states publicly about single sign-on, provisioning, audit logs, data location and the contract. A blank is a question for the sales call, not a no.
| SAML SSO | Not published | Listed under Platform features on pricing page; plan not stated by the vendor. |
|---|---|---|
| SCIM provisioning | Not published | Listed under Platform features; plan not stated. |
| DPA | Yes, public DPA v2.2 (effective 2026-03-23) at legal.onetrust.com. | Not published |
| Contract | Full subscription term commitment per legal page; no monthly plan published. | Not published |
Differences most comparisons miss
Worth knowing about OneTrust
- G2 has only 5 reviews for the TPM product; Gartner Peer Insights shows 4.1 from 177 ratings and GetApp 4.3 from 57, so the G2 score is thin evidence.
- Continuous monitoring relies on third-party security-rating integrations rather than a native scoring engine (per integration pages).
- Adds ethics and compliance screening (PEP, sanctions, adverse media) beyond security questionnaires.
- Sold as a module of a wider privacy and GRC platform, so cost depends on bundle.
Worth knowing about Vanta
- AI security reviews, continuous monitoring, vendor inventory and the TPRM API are add-ons, not in base plans.
- Questionnaire automation is capped at 25 per year on Plus and 144 on Professional.
- The Vendors page itself is included on all plans per the help center.
- Vendr median contract about $20,000/yr for Vanta overall (not the VRM add-on alone)
OneTrust vs Vanta: frequently asked questions
Which is better, OneTrust or Vanta?
It depends on the team. OneTrust is the stronger pick for enterprises that already use OneTrust for privacy or GRC and want vendor risk on the same platform, while Vanta suits companies already buying Vanta for SOC 2 or ISO 27001 that want vendor review in the same tool. Compare the feature rows above against your must-haves before you look at price.
Do OneTrust and Vanta support SAML single sign-on?
OneTrust: not stated on its public pages. Vanta: listed under Platform features on pricing page; plan not stated by the vendor. Confirm the plan in writing before you compare prices.
Sources
Both columns use the same sources: vendor pricing and product pages, documentation, G2 and company records, checked on October 24, 2026. Full source lists are on the OneTrust and Vanta reviews.