QuickBooks Online vs FreshBooks (2026): features, security and which one to buy
QuickBooks Online and FreshBooks compared on what they do, who they suit, their key features, pros and cons, and what each vendor publishes on security, admin and contract terms, with every fact checked on October 24, 2026.
QuickBooks Online or FreshBooks: the short answer
Choose QuickBooks Online if
- Small businesses that work with an outside accountant who already uses QuickBooks.
- Teams that want a wide third-party app ecosystem.
- Businesses needing inventory, projects and budgeting on the Plus tier.
Choose FreshBooks if
- Freelancers and service businesses billing a limited number of clients.
- Teams wanting time tracking and invoicing in one tool.
- Buyers who want simple, guided accounting.
What are QuickBooks Online and FreshBooks?
QuickBooks Online
Intuit's cloud bookkeeping suite with four paid tiers that scale by user cap (1, 3, 5, 25) rather than per seat. A natural pick when your outside accountant already works in QuickBooks. Tiers are capped at 1, 3, 5 or 25 users rather than priced per seat, so count who needs access. Inventory, projects and budgeting sit on the higher tiers, and list prices rose in 2025.
FreshBooks
Invoicing-first accounting for freelancers and service firms, priced by billable client count. Freelancers and service firms that bill a handful of clients will feel at home here, because pricing follows client count and setup is guided. Check how many staff you will add, as each extra user costs $11, and whether you need inventory, which is not the focus.
QuickBooks Online vs FreshBooks: features compared
| What it is | Intuit's cloud bookkeeping suite with four paid tiers that scale by user cap (1, 3, 5, 25) rather than per seat. | Invoicing-first accounting for freelancers and service firms, priced by billable client count. |
|---|---|---|
| Best for | Small businesses that work with an outside accountant who already uses QuickBooks. | Freelancers and service businesses billing a limited number of clients. |
| Company size | 1 to 25 users; Advanced aimed at the upper small business end. | Freelancers to small service firms. |
| Invoicing and billing | Invoicing with online payments from Simple Start; Free plan limited to 2 invoices per month; bulk invoice creation in beta on Essentials. | Recurring invoices and late payment reminders on all tiers. |
| Bank feeds and reconciliation | Automated bookkeeping from Simple Start; reconciliation tools listed from Plus; Free plan limited to 1 bank connection. | Bank reconciliation from Plus. |
| Financial reporting | Top 3 reports on Free, general business reports on Simple Start, enhanced reports on Essentials, custom KPIs and dashboards on Advanced. | Financial and double-entry accounting reports from Plus. |
| Expense and bill management | Expense categorization and free ACH bill pay from Simple Start; $0.50 per standard ACH over monthly allotment; Bill Pay Elite listed for Advanced. | Expense tracking all tiers; bill scanning and accounts payable on Premium. |
| Payroll and sales tax support | Payroll sold as an optional add-on; pricing not on the pricing page. | FreshBooks Payroll $40/month + $6 per user. |
| Accountant access and integrations | 2 accountant seats on Simple Start to Plus, 3 on Advanced; integrations not available on Free. | Accountant access from Plus. |
| Recurring invoices and subscriptions | Not stated on pricing page. | Automated recurring invoices on all tiers. |
| Online payment acceptance | QuickBooks Payments, card and ACH; Free plan gets unlimited invoices if you enable Payments. | Cards, ACH, Apple Pay, Google Pay, BNPL; lower fees on Select. |
| Automated payment reminders | Not stated on pricing page. | Automated late payment reminders on all tiers. |
| Sales tax and multi-currency | Not confirmed by the vendor. | Tax-time reports on Lite; multi-currency not confirmed by the vendor. |
| Accounting integration | Native accounting product. | Native accounting from Plus. |
| Time and expense billing | Employee time added to invoices from Essentials. | Unlimited time tracking and expenses on all tiers. |
| Branding and templates | Custom lead form on Essentials; not confirmed by the vendor for templates. | Custom email templates on Premium; branding removal on Select. |
| Free plan or trial | Free plan, Free trial | Free trial |
| Starting price | $38/month (Simple Start, 1 user) | $23/month (Lite, 5 billable clients) |
| G2 rating | 4.0 (3,866 reviews) | 4.5 (981 reviews) |
Pros and cons
QuickBooks Online
Pros
- Easy to learn and intuitive for non-accountants.
- Large ecosystem of connected apps and accountant familiarity.
- Cloud access lets owner and bookkeeper work at the same time.
Cons
- Repeated price increases and promo-then-list pricing.
- Support quality and billing issues reported by some reviewers.
- User caps force a jump from Plus (5 users) to Advanced (25 users)
FreshBooks
Pros
- Very easy invoicing for non-accountants.
- Strong customer support reputation.
- Time tracking integrated with billing.
Cons
- Cost for solo users and annual price increases.
- Limited invoice flexibility.
- Access to records after cancelling.
QuickBooks Online vs FreshBooks pricing
QuickBooks Online starts at $38/month (Simple Start, 1 user) and FreshBooks at $23/month (Lite, 5 billable clients). The pricing bases differ, so compare the full quote for your team rather than the entry price.
| Pricing model | flat per plan with user cap | per plan by billable client count plus per extra user |
|---|---|---|
| Per seat per month | No per-seat price; Advanced is $340/month for up to 25 users. | $11 per extra team member per month. |
| Billing | Monthly only. | Monthly and annual. |
| 20 users per year | Advanced $340/month x 12 = $4,080 per year at list for up to 25 users (promo excluded) | Not published |
| Add-ons | Payroll (price not on pricing page); ACH bill pay $0.50 per transaction over allotment; Bill Pay Elite (listed with Advanced) | Extra team member $11/month; Advanced Payments $20/month; Payroll $40/month + $6 per user. |
Security, admin and contract: QuickBooks Online vs FreshBooks
What each vendor states publicly about single sign-on, provisioning, audit logs, data location and the contract. A blank is a question for the sales call, not a no.
| SAML SSO | No SAML SSO with external identity providers per ThreatLocker and Intuit community answers (older, not confirmed by the vendor in current docs) | Not published |
|---|---|---|
| Data residency | Not published | Third-party review says personal data processed in Canada; not vendor-confirmed. |
| Contract | Monthly; no annual contract; cancel anytime per pricing page. | Not published |
Differences most comparisons miss
Worth knowing about QuickBooks Online
- Users are capped by plan (1/3/5/25), so a 20-person team has to buy Advanced at $340/month on the vendor pricing page.
- Third-party sources and Intuit's own notice documented a list increase effective July 1, 2025 (Simple Start $35 to $38, Essentials $65 to $75, Plus $99 to $115, Advanced $235 to $275)
- Community answers and a ThreatLocker post state QuickBooks Online does not support SAML SSO with external identity providers; Google sign-in is the alternative.
- The Free plan appeared on the pricing page with 2 invoices per month and no integrations.
Worth knowing about FreshBooks
- Plans are capped by billable clients (5/50/unlimited), not by users, so Lite stops working once you bill a sixth client.
- Every extra team member costs $11/month on all tiers; only Select includes 2.
- Only SOC 2 Type 1 found (Feb 2023), report available under NDA.
- Advanced Payments is a $20/month add-on except on Select.
QuickBooks Online vs FreshBooks: frequently asked questions
Which is better, QuickBooks Online or FreshBooks?
It depends on the team. QuickBooks Online is the stronger pick for small businesses that work with an outside accountant who already uses QuickBooks, while FreshBooks suits freelancers and service businesses billing a limited number of clients. Compare the feature rows above against your must-haves before you look at price.
Do QuickBooks Online and FreshBooks support SAML single sign-on?
QuickBooks Online: no SAML SSO with external identity providers per ThreatLocker and Intuit community answers (older, not confirmed by the vendor in current docs). FreshBooks: not stated on its public pages. Confirm the plan in writing before you compare prices.
Can I try QuickBooks Online and FreshBooks for free?
QuickBooks Online: free plan, free trial. FreshBooks: free trial.
Sources
Both columns use the same sources: vendor pricing and product pages, documentation, G2 and company records, checked on October 24, 2026. Full source lists are on the QuickBooks Online and FreshBooks reviews.