QuickBooks Online vs Xero (2026): features, security and which one to buy
QuickBooks Online and Xero compared on what they do, who they suit, their key features, pros and cons, and what each vendor publishes on security, admin and contract terms, with every fact checked on October 24, 2026.
QuickBooks Online or Xero: the short answer
Choose QuickBooks Online if
- Small businesses that work with an outside accountant who already uses QuickBooks.
- Teams that want a wide third-party app ecosystem.
- Businesses needing inventory, projects and budgeting on the Plus tier.
Choose Xero if
- Teams that need unlimited users without per-seat cost.
- Businesses with multi-currency needs.
- Firms working with accountants who use Xero practice tools.
What are QuickBooks Online and Xero?
QuickBooks Online
Intuit's cloud bookkeeping suite with four paid tiers that scale by user cap (1, 3, 5, 25) rather than per seat. A natural pick when your outside accountant already works in QuickBooks. Tiers are capped at 1, 3, 5 or 25 users rather than priced per seat, so count who needs access. Inventory, projects and budgeting sit on the higher tiers, and list prices rose in 2025.
Xero
New Zealand-built cloud accounting with three flat-priced plans and no per-user license fees. Shortlist Xero if several people touch the books and per-seat fees would sting, or if you invoice in more than one currency. In a trial, test the Early plan's 20 invoice and 5 bill monthly limits and the $5 reconciliation add-on, since both shape what you really pay.
QuickBooks Online vs Xero: features compared
| What it is | Intuit's cloud bookkeeping suite with four paid tiers that scale by user cap (1, 3, 5, 25) rather than per seat. | New Zealand-built cloud accounting with three flat-priced plans and no per-user license fees. |
|---|---|---|
| Best for | Small businesses that work with an outside accountant who already uses QuickBooks. | Teams that need unlimited users without per-seat cost. |
| Company size | 1 to 25 users; Advanced aimed at the upper small business end. | Small businesses; Established for larger teams. |
| Invoicing and billing | Invoicing with online payments from Simple Start; Free plan limited to 2 invoices per month; bulk invoice creation in beta on Essentials. | Quotes and invoices; Early plan limited to 20 invoices and 5 bills per month. |
| Bank feeds and reconciliation | Automated bookkeeping from Simple Start; reconciliation tools listed from Plus; Free plan limited to 1 bank connection. | Auto-reconcile $5/month add-on on Early, included on Growing and Established. |
| Financial reporting | Top 3 reports on Free, general business reports on Simple Start, enhanced reports on Essentials, custom KPIs and dashboards on Advanced. | Cash flow forecast 30/60/180 days by plan. |
| Expense and bill management | Expense categorization and free ACH bill pay from Simple Start; $0.50 per standard ACH over monthly allotment; Bill Pay Elite listed for Advanced. | Expense claims and project tracking only on Established. |
| Payroll and sales tax support | Payroll sold as an optional add-on; pricing not on the pricing page. | Xero Payroll powered by Gusto, $36/month + $6 per employee. |
| Accountant access and integrations | 2 accountant seats on Simple Start to Plus, 3 on Advanced; integrations not available on Free. | No per-user fees; integrations count not confirmed by the vendor. |
| Recurring invoices and subscriptions | Not stated on pricing page. | Not confirmed by the vendor. |
| Online payment acceptance | QuickBooks Payments, card and ACH; Free plan gets unlimited invoices if you enable Payments. | Not confirmed by the vendor. |
| Automated payment reminders | Not stated on pricing page. | Not confirmed by the vendor. |
| Sales tax and multi-currency | Not confirmed by the vendor. | Not confirmed by the vendor. |
| Accounting integration | Native accounting product. | Native accounting product. |
| Time and expense billing | Employee time added to invoices from Essentials. | Projects tracking on Established. |
| Branding and templates | Custom lead form on Essentials; not confirmed by the vendor for templates. | Not confirmed by the vendor. |
| Free plan or trial | Free plan, Free trial | Free trial |
| Starting price | $38/month (Simple Start, 1 user) | $27/month (Early) |
| G2 rating | 4.0 (3,866 reviews) | 4.4 (1,558 reviews) |
Pros and cons
QuickBooks Online
Pros
- Easy to learn and intuitive for non-accountants.
- Large ecosystem of connected apps and accountant familiarity.
- Cloud access lets owner and bookkeeper work at the same time.
Cons
- Repeated price increases and promo-then-list pricing.
- Support quality and billing issues reported by some reviewers.
- User caps force a jump from Plus (5 users) to Advanced (25 users)
Xero
Pros
- Usable for owners without accounting background.
- Strong automatic bank reconciliation.
- No per-user fees.
Cons
- Repeated list price increases.
- US payroll and tax depth thinner than QuickBooks.
- Plan limits on bills and invoices on Early.
QuickBooks Online vs Xero pricing
QuickBooks Online starts at $38/month (Simple Start, 1 user) and Xero at $27/month (Early). The pricing bases differ, so compare the full quote for your team rather than the entry price.
| Pricing model | flat per plan with user cap | flat per plan, no per-user license fee |
|---|---|---|
| Per seat per month | No per-seat price; Advanced is $340/month for up to 25 users. | $0 per user (no per-user license fees per vendor page) |
| Billing | Monthly only. | Monthly only. |
| 20 users per year | Advanced $340/month x 12 = $4,080 per year at list for up to 25 users (promo excluded) | Growing $59/month x 12 = $708 per year; user cap not stated on the page, so fit for 20 users is not confirmed. |
| Add-ons | Payroll (price not on pricing page); ACH bill pay $0.50 per transaction over allotment; Bill Pay Elite (listed with Advanced) | Auto-reconcile $5/month on Early; Payroll via Gusto $36/month + $6 per employee; Inventory Plus (price not captured) |
Security, admin and contract: QuickBooks Online vs Xero
What each vendor states publicly about single sign-on, provisioning, audit logs, data location and the contract. A blank is a question for the sales call, not a no.
| SAML SSO | No SAML SSO with external identity providers per ThreatLocker and Intuit community answers (older, not confirmed by the vendor in current docs) | Not published |
|---|---|---|
| Contract | Monthly; no annual contract; cancel anytime per pricing page. | Monthly, cancel anytime; downgrade allowed one month after upgrading. |
Differences most comparisons miss
Worth knowing about QuickBooks Online
- Users are capped by plan (1/3/5/25), so a 20-person team has to buy Advanced at $340/month on the vendor pricing page.
- Third-party sources and Intuit's own notice documented a list increase effective July 1, 2025 (Simple Start $35 to $38, Essentials $65 to $75, Plus $99 to $115, Advanced $235 to $275)
- Community answers and a ThreatLocker post state QuickBooks Online does not support SAML SSO with external identity providers; Google sign-in is the alternative.
- The Free plan appeared on the pricing page with 2 invoices per month and no integrations.
Worth knowing about Xero
- No per-user license fees, so seats do not affect price.
- Prices step up on October 1, 2026 to $27/$59/$97 from $25/$55/$90 (insightfulaccountant.com and vendor page)
- Pricing page says Xero may change pricing at any time and subscriptions auto-renew monthly.
- No annual billing option shown on the US pricing page.
QuickBooks Online vs Xero: frequently asked questions
Which is better, QuickBooks Online or Xero?
It depends on the team. QuickBooks Online is the stronger pick for small businesses that work with an outside accountant who already uses QuickBooks, while Xero suits teams that need unlimited users without per-seat cost. Compare the feature rows above against your must-haves before you look at price.
Do QuickBooks Online and Xero support SAML single sign-on?
QuickBooks Online: no SAML SSO with external identity providers per ThreatLocker and Intuit community answers (older, not confirmed by the vendor in current docs). Xero: not stated on its public pages. Confirm the plan in writing before you compare prices.
Can I try QuickBooks Online and Xero for free?
QuickBooks Online: free plan, free trial. Xero: free trial.
Sources
Both columns use the same sources: vendor pricing and product pages, documentation, G2 and company records, checked on October 24, 2026. Full source lists are on the QuickBooks Online and Xero reviews.