OnPay review (2026): features, pros and cons, and what to check before you buy

Small-business payroll with one flat plan, unlimited pay runs and all-state tax filing included.

Researched by Max Benz · Facts checked October 24, 2026 · How we research

Our take for buyers

OnPay is small-business payroll with one flat plan, unlimited pay runs and all-state tax filing included. It fits small businesses, multi-state small teams that need included filings, and accounting firms that partner with it, as there is a 15% revenue share partner program for them. Larger employers should look elsewhere. Teams that need deep third-party integrations are not the target.

G2 shows 4.8 from 406 reviews, and 97.7% of reviews come from small businesses. Reviewers praise responsive support, handling of taxes and forms, and straightforward setup. TechRepublic notes limited third-party integrations. Listed integrations include QuickBooks Time, Deputy and When I Work. Contract terms are not stated on the pricing page, and no SSO is listed.

Pros

  • Responsive support.
  • Handles taxes and forms.
  • Straightforward setup.

Cons

  • Limited third-party integrations (TechRepublic)
  • No built-in time tracking in base (Merchant Maverick, older)
Best for
Small businesses and accounting-firm partners.
Starting price
$49/month + $6 per worker
G2 rating
4.8 (406 reviews)

What is OnPay?

Small-business payroll with one flat plan, unlimited pay runs and all-state tax filing included. Small firms and accountants who want a single plan can pay $49 monthly plus $6 per worker, with unlimited pay runs and filings in every state. Time tracking costs $15 plus $4 per worker, and benefits are add-ons. Check that your accounting tool is supported, since integrations are limited.

Category: Payroll Software

OnPay key features

OnPay features, checked October 24, 2026
CriterionWhat we found
Pricing modelBase plus per worker.
Target company sizeSmall business (97.7% of G2 reviews)
Tax filing and complianceFederal, state and local filings included.
Multi-state payrollPay workers in any number of states, no extra fee.
Time tracking and PTOTime tracking add-on $15 + $4 per worker.
Benefits administrationHealth, workers comp and 401(k) as add-ons, pay only premiums.
Contractor and 1099 payments1099 forms included; contractor pricing not listed.

OnPay plans and pricing

OnPay plans as published on October 24, 2026
PlanPriceUnitNotes
Payroll Essentials$49base/month + $6 per workerUnlimited pay runs, federal/state/local filings, W-2 and 1099
HR$15base + $2 per worker
HR + Time Tracking$21base + $4 per worker
Bundled HR$71base + $1 per workerPayroll+HR
Bundled HR + Time Tracking$81base + $4 per worker
Time Tracking$15base + $4 per workerStandalone

Page headline 'starts at $55 per month' = $49 + one worker. No implementation or integration fees. Contract terms not stated on page.

Who should shortlist OnPay

A strong fit for

  • Small businesses and accounting-firm partners.
  • Multi-state small teams needing included filings.

A weak fit for

  • Teams needing deep third-party integrations.
  • Larger employers.

OnPay alternatives

  • GustoSmall US businesses of 1 to a few dozen people wanting simple setup.
  • Patriot PayrollVery small businesses watching cost.
  • QuickBooks PayrollBusinesses already on QuickBooks Online.
  • JustworksSmall US companies that want a PEO with benefits and compliance handled for them.
  • ADP RunSmall businesses wanting a large provider with tax filing and add-on HR/benefits.
  • Paychex FlexMid-size employers wanting a full-service provider with HR and benefits options.

Contract and buying terms

Contract
Not specified on pricing page.
Implementation
No implementation fees stated.
Support
Phone, chat and email; Live HR Support is an add-on.
Starting price
$49/month + $6 per worker.
Pricing model
Base fee plus per worker.
Free plan or trial
No.

What to test in an OnPay demo or trial

Confirm that your accounting system connects the way you need, since the accounting integrations are not detailed and reviewers call third-party integrations limited. If you pay people in several states, run a test payroll that includes each state and check the local filings. Try contacting support by phone, chat and email at your busiest time, since reviewers praise responsiveness. Decide early whether you need time tracking or HR, which are add-ons, and how contractor payments with 1099s will work, as contractor pricing is not listed.

Questions to ask OnPay before you sign

These are the points OnPay's public pages leave open. Get the answers in writing before procurement signs off.

  1. Which plan includes SAML SSO, and what does it cost for our seat count?
  2. Is SCIM provisioning included, or a paid add-on?
  3. Which plan includes audit logs, and how long are they kept?
  4. Where is our data stored, and can we choose the region?
  5. Can we sign your standard DPA without changes?
  6. What will the price be at renewal, and is the increase capped?

Things to know before a demo

  • Single published price: $49 + $6 per worker with unlimited runs.
  • Multi-state included at no extra fee.
  • No implementation or integration fees.
  • Partner program: 15% revenue share for accounting firms.

OnPay FAQ

What is OnPay used for?

Small firms and accountants who want a single plan can pay $49 monthly plus $6 per worker, with unlimited pay runs and filings in every state. Time tracking costs $15 plus $4 per worker, and benefits are add-ons. Check that your accounting tool is supported, since integrations are limited. It suits small businesses and accounting-firm partners.

Who is OnPay best for?

Small businesses and multi-state small teams that want included tax filing, plus accounting firms that join the partner program. It is not aimed at larger employers.

Does OnPay support SSO?

SSO is not published on the vendor pages. Ask the vendor if you need it, along with audit logs and data residency.

Which tools does OnPay integrate with?

Listed integrations include QuickBooks Time, Deputy and When I Work. Reviewers say third-party integrations are limited, so check your accounting tool.

Sources

Every fact on this page comes from OnPay's own pricing, product or documentation pages, G2 and company records, checked on October 24, 2026. Unknown values are left out instead of estimated.

Sources (3)
  1. pricing (onpay.com)
  2. g2.com
  3. review (techrepublic.com)