Zoho Expense review (2026): features, pros and cons, and what to check before you buy

Low-cost per-user expense tool from Zoho with a free plan for up to 3 users and no contract.

Researched by Max Benz · Facts checked October 24, 2026 · How we research

Our take for buyers

Zoho Expense is an expense tool for freelancers up to mid-size companies, with policy and approval workflows, AI receipt capture, mileage and card feed management. It is not a card issuer, so it fits buyers who already have corporate cards. It also suits teams on Zoho Books or Zoho One that want one vendor for finance tools. G2 shows 4.5 from 1,542 reviews.

On the buying side, the useful detail is that SSO starts on Standard, the cheapest paid plan. Audit trails, SCIM and data residency are less clear: a basic audit trail is listed on Free, and paid levels are not specified. Pay-as-you-go terms keep the commitment low, but Premium Support is a paid add-on.

Best for
Small teams on a tight budget.
Starting price
Free; paid from $3 per user per month billed annually
G2 rating
4.5 (1,542 reviews)

What is Zoho Expense?

Low-cost per-user expense tool from Zoho with a free plan for up to 3 users and no contract. Teams watching every dollar can start free for up to three users, then pay from $3 per user monthly on annual billing, with only expense-creating users charged. Existing Zoho Books or Zoho One customers get the smoothest fit. Check AI scan quotas per tier in the trial.

Category: Expense Management Software

Zoho Expense key features

Zoho Expense features, checked October 24, 2026
CriterionWhat we found
Pricing modelPer user, only expense-creating users billed.
Target company sizeFreelancers to mid-size; Custom plan from 100 users.
Receipt capture and OCRAI scan: 20/user/month Free, 200 Standard, 1,000 Premium (EU page)
Approval workflows and policy controlsPolicy and approval workflows.
Corporate cardsCard feed management (Visa/Mastercard) on Standard; not an issuer.
Reimbursements and paymentsACH payments on Standard (EU page)
Travel and mileage trackingGPS mileage on Free; live mileage and travel booking on Premium.

Zoho Expense plans and pricing

Zoho Expense plans as published on October 24, 2026
PlanPriceUnitNotes
Free$0up to 3 users20 AI receipt scans/user/month, 5 GB storage, email support
Standard$4 monthly / $3 annualper user per monthincludes SSO, company card feeds
Premium$6 monthly / $5 annualper user per monthincludes Standard features, live mileage, travel booking, budgets
CustomQuotemin 100 users (EU page), custom ERP/HRMS integrations

US page; German page shows EUR 4/3 and 6/5. Only users who create expenses are billed.

Who should shortlist Zoho Expense

A strong fit for

  • Small teams on a tight budget.
  • Existing Zoho Books or Zoho One users.

A weak fit for

  • Companies needing issued corporate cards.
  • Large enterprises wanting deep multi-entity workflows.

Zoho Expense alternatives

  • RipplingCompanies already running payroll and HR on Rippling that want app access tied to employee records.
  • RampCompanies that want cards, expenses and AP in one tool and are fine adopting its card.
  • BrexStartups and mid-size companies that want cards plus expenses on one platform.
  • Bill Spend & ExpenseSMBs wanting no software fees and a charge card.
  • EmburseMid-size to large finance teams wanting audited vendor security.
  • ExpensifyExpensify is a receipt-scanning expense reporting app for small teams, sold per member.

Security, admin and compliance

Published: SSO is on Standard and up, and the Custom plan adds AD, Okta and JumpCloud per the EU page. A basic audit trail is listed on Free, but paid levels are not specified. Not published: SCIM, data residency and DPA terms. Contract terms are pay-as-you-go with no long-term commitment. Ask Zoho what the audit trail covers on paid plans, where expense data is hosted and what the DPA says. Premium Support and onboarding are paid add-ons.

SAML SSO
Standard and up (Custom adds AD, Okta, JumpCloud per EU page)
Audit logs
Basic audit trail on Free; paid not specified.

Contract and buying terms

Contract
No long-term commitment, pay-as-you-go.
Implementation
Jumpstart onboarding paid add-on.
Support
Email on Free; Premium Support paid add-on.
Starting price
Free; paid from $3 per user per month billed annually.
Pricing model
Per user.
Free plan or trial
Free plan, Free trial.

What to test in a Zoho Expense demo or trial

Test receipt capture with messy real receipts and compare it against the scan limits of 20 on Free, 200 on Standard and 1,000 on Premium per user per month. Set up one approval policy that mirrors yours and push a few reports through it. If you use corporate cards, connect a Visa or Mastercard feed on Standard and see how matching works. Try GPS mileage on Free, and live mileage and travel booking on Premium. Check how your accounting system, such as Zoho Books, receives the data, and test SSO with your identity provider.

Questions to ask Zoho Expense before you sign

These are the points Zoho Expense's public pages leave open. Get the answers in writing before procurement signs off.

  1. Is SCIM provisioning included, or a paid add-on?
  2. Where is our data stored, and can we choose the region?
  3. Can we sign your standard DPA without changes?
  4. What will the price be at renewal, and is the increase capped?

Things to know before a demo

  • SSO is already on Standard, the cheapest paid plan.
  • Free plan limited to 3 users and 20 receipt scans per user per month.
  • Custom plan has a 100-user minimum (EU pricing page)
  • Travel add-on costs EUR 9.99 per trip; Premium Support from EUR 490/yr; Jumpstart onboarding from EUR 500/yr (EU page)

Zoho Expense FAQ

What is Zoho Expense used for?

Teams watching every dollar can start free for up to three users, then pay from $3 per user monthly on annual billing, with only expense-creating users charged. Existing Zoho Books or Zoho One customers get the smoothest fit. Check AI scan quotas per tier in the trial. It suits small teams on a tight budget.

Does Zoho Expense support SSO?

Yes. SSO is included from Standard, the cheapest paid plan. The Custom plan adds AD, Okta and JumpCloud per the EU page.

Does Zoho Expense issue corporate cards?

No. It manages Visa and Mastercard card feeds on Standard but is not an issuer. Companies needing issued cards should look elsewhere.

Who is Zoho Expense best for?

Small teams on a tight budget and existing Zoho Books or Zoho One users. Large enterprises wanting deep multi-entity workflows are a weaker fit.

Sources

Every fact on this page comes from Zoho Expense's own pricing, product or documentation pages, G2 and company records, checked on October 24, 2026. Unknown values are left out instead of estimated.

Sources (2)
  1. US pricing (zoho.com)
  2. EU pricing, add-ons (zoho.com)