Copper review (2026): features, pros and cons, and what to check before you buy

Copper is a CRM built around Google Workspace that logs Gmail and Calendar activity into contacts and deals.

Researched by Max Benz · Facts checked October 24, 2026 · How we research

Our take for buyers

Copper deserves a shortlist spot if your team lives in Gmail and Google Workspace and wants a simple CRM with little admin work. It is built to log Gmail and Calendar activity into contacts and deals, and reviewers say it is easy to learn. The G2 rating is 4.5 from 1,152 reviews, and about 79% of those reviewers are small businesses, which tells you who it really serves.

It is a poor fit for Microsoft 365 shops and for teams that need deep customization or enterprise controls. Reviewers describe it as too simple, and some report that Gmail sync links email to the wrong opportunity or fails. Treat the email sync as the first thing to prove in a trial, before you commit any budget or move your pipeline over.

Pros

  • Fits tightly into Gmail and Google Workspace.
  • Easy to learn.

Cons

  • Seen as too simple, missing features.
  • Gmail sync sometimes links email to the wrong opportunity or fails.
Best for
Small teams that live in Gmail and Google Workspace.
Starting price
$23 per user/month billed annually (Basic); $29 monthly
G2 rating
4.5 (1,152 reviews)

What is Copper?

Copper is a CRM built around Google Workspace that logs Gmail and Calendar activity into contacts and deals. A sensible pick for small teams working in Gmail and Google Workspace who want a CRM without admin overhead, since email and calendar activity attach to records. Microsoft 365 shops should skip it. In a trial, watch for Gmail sync linking messages to the wrong opportunity.

Category: CRM Software

Copper key features

Copper features, checked October 24, 2026
CriterionWhat we found
Pipeline managementPipelines on all plans; task automation on Basic, workflow automation from Professional.
Email and calendar integrationBuilt around Gmail and Google Workspace; reviewers report occasional sync mismatches.
Sales automationTask automation on Basic, workflow automation from Professional, email series on Business.
Reporting and forecastingReporting from Professional, custom reports on Business.
Mobile appMobile app listed on comparison page, plan assignment not stated.
Integrations and marketplaceGoogle Workspace, Okta SSO listed; marketplace size not confirmed by the vendor.
Pricing model and free tierPer user, no free plan, free trial without credit card.
Target company sizeSmall business (about 79% of G2 reviews are small-business)

Copper plans and pricing

Copper plans as published on October 24, 2026
PlanPriceUnitNotes
Basic$29 monthly / $23 annualper user/month2,500 contacts
Professional$69 monthly / $59 annualper user/month15,000 contacts, workflow automation, reporting
Business$134 monthly / $99 annualper user/monthUnlimited contacts, email series, custom reports, multi-currency

Annual billing saves up to 26% per the pricing page. No minimum seat count listed.

Who should shortlist Copper

A strong fit for

  • Small teams that live in Gmail and Google Workspace.
  • Teams wanting a simple pipeline without admin overhead.

A weak fit for

  • Teams needing deep customization or enterprise controls.
  • Microsoft 365 shops.

Copper alternatives

  • PipedriveSmall sales teams that live in a visual deal pipeline.
  • HubSpot CRMTeams starting free with up to 2 users.
  • Less Annoying CRMVery small teams that want one flat price and no feature tiers.
  • Zoho CRMSmall businesses that want a free start and cheap per-user editions.
  • FreshsalesSmall to mid-size teams wanting a cheap entry tier.
  • CloseInside-sales and SDR teams that call and email at volume.

Security, admin and compliance

Published: encryption in transit and at rest, third-party penetration tests, and EU Standard Contractual Clauses in the Terms of Service. Okta single sign-on is listed on the pricing page, but the plan is not specified. Copper does not name a SOC 2 or ISO certification on its security page, though a Trust Center exists at trust.copper.com. Not published: SCIM, audit logs, data residency, and a standalone DPA. Ask for the DPA, the SSO plan requirement, and cancellation terms before signing.

SAML SSO
Single sign-on (Okta) listed on the pricing page; plan not specified by the vendor.
Data residency
Not stated; EU transfers covered by SCCs in Terms of Service.
Public DPA
No standalone DPA named on security page; SCCs incorporated into Terms of Service.
Certifications
Encryption in transit and at rest, Third-party penetration tests, EU Standard Contractual Clauses in Terms of Service.

Contract and buying terms

Contract
Monthly billing available; cancellation terms not confirmed by the vendor.
Support
Premium support on Business annual; other channels not confirmed by the vendor.
Starting price
$23 per user/month billed annually (Basic); $29 monthly.
Pricing model
Per user.
Free plan or trial
Free trial.

What to test in a Copper demo or trial

Connect a real Gmail account and run a week of live deals through it. Check that emails land on the correct opportunity, since reviewers report mismatches and occasional sync failures. Build the automation you actually need and note which plan it requires: task automation is on Basic, workflow automation starts at Professional and email series at Business. Count your contacts against the 2,500 and 15,000 caps. Ask whether the mobile app is included on the plan you would buy, as the page does not say.

Questions to ask Copper before you sign

These are the points Copper's public pages leave open. Get the answers in writing before procurement signs off.

  1. Is SCIM provisioning included, or a paid add-on?
  2. Which plan includes audit logs, and how long are they kept?
  3. What will the price be at renewal, and is the increase capped?

Things to know before a demo

  • Annual price is up to 26% below monthly; Business plan list is $134 monthly vs $99 annual.
  • Contact caps by plan: 2,500 / 15,000 / unlimited.
  • Premium support and personal onboarding only for eligible annual Professional and Business accounts.
  • Copper does not name a SOC 2 or ISO certification on its public security page; a Trust Center exists at trust.copper.com.

Copper FAQ

What is Copper used for?

A sensible pick for small teams working in Gmail and Google Workspace who want a CRM without admin overhead, since email and calendar activity attach to records. Microsoft 365 shops should skip it. In a trial, watch for Gmail sync linking messages to the wrong opportunity. It suits small teams that live in Gmail and Google Workspace.

Does Copper support SSO?

Okta single sign-on is listed on the pricing page, but the vendor does not say which plan includes it. Confirm the plan before buying.

Is Copper SOC 2 certified?

Copper does not name a SOC 2 or ISO certification on its public security page. It points to a Trust Center at trust.copper.com, so ask for current reports there.

Who is Copper best for?

Small teams that live in Gmail and Google Workspace and want a simple pipeline without admin overhead. It is not suited to Microsoft 365 shops or teams needing deep customization.

Sources

Every fact on this page comes from Copper's own pricing, product or documentation pages, G2 and company records, checked on October 24, 2026. Unknown values are left out instead of estimated.

Sources (3)
  1. pricing page (copper.com)
  2. security page (copper.com)
  3. g2.com