
Egnyte review (2026): features, pros and cons, and what to check before you buy
Business content platform for file sharing and governance with AI features, sold in four tiers.
Our take for buyers
Egnyte is a business content platform that leads with governance, which is why governance-minded buyers shortlist it. Mid-size firms wanting ransomware detection on file storage are the vendor's best fit, and the entry price of $22 per user a month makes it a harder sell for very small teams. A free trial exists, but its length and any user minimum are not stated.
The tiers change what you can control. Business covers discretionary permissions, plus Microsoft 365 co-editing and Google Workspace integration. Ransomware detection starts at Enterprise Lite, e-signature and watermarking at Elite, and classification, DLP integration and customer-managed keys only at the custom Ultimate tier. G2 shows 4.4 from 1,162 reviews, so check the tier you plan to buy against the features you need.
- Best for
- Mid-size firms wanting governance and ransomware detection on file storage.
- Starting price
- $22 per user/month billed annually (Business)
- G2 rating
- 4.4 (1,162 reviews)
What is Egnyte?
Business content platform for file sharing and governance with AI features, sold in four tiers. Mid-size companies that care more about governance and ransomware detection than raw storage should demo it. Business costs $22 per user monthly on annual billing. Customer-managed keys are limited to Ultimate, and data classification also sits on the top tier.
Category: Cloud Storage and File Sharing
Egnyte key features
| Criterion | What we found |
|---|---|
| Sharing and permission controls | Discretionary permissions (Business) |
| Real-time collaboration and editing | Microsoft 365 co-editing and Google Workspace integration (Business) |
| Security and encryption | Customer-managed encryption keys only on Ultimate. |
| Compliance certifications | Document and sensitive data classification on Ultimate. |
| Pricing model and transparency | Per user, annual. |
Egnyte plans and pricing
| Plan | Price | Unit | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Business | $22 | per user/month, annual | AI Q&A on single documents |
| Enterprise Lite | $39 | per user/month, annual | ransomware detection, lifecycle management |
| Elite | $48 | per user/month, annual | AI Assistant, e-signature, watermarking |
| Ultimate | Contact sales | custom | classification, DLP integration, customer-managed keys |
Trial length and minimum users not stated.
Who should shortlist Egnyte
A strong fit for
- Mid-size firms wanting governance and ransomware detection on file storage.
A weak fit for
- Very small teams on a tight budget: entry price is $22 per user/month.
Egnyte alternatives
BoxRegulated organizations needing FedRAMP Moderate or HIPAA (Enterprise tier)
ShareFileAccounting and financial firms needing HIPAA or SEC+FINRA-eligible sharing (Premium and up)
Dropbox BusinessSmall teams (Standard is available from 1 user) wanting simple sync and sharing.
TresoritRegulated teams (HIPAA, legal, finance) that need zero-knowledge encryption.
Google DriveTeams already on Google Workspace email and Docs.
Microsoft OneDriveOrganizations already on Microsoft 365 and Entra ID.
Contract and buying terms
- Contract
- Annual; multi-year discount.
- Starting price
- $22 per user/month billed annually (Business)
- Pricing model
- Per user.
- Free plan or trial
- Free trial.
What to test in an Egnyte demo or trial
Run the trial with a real shared folder structure and test how discretionary permissions map to your teams. Confirm the Microsoft 365 co-editing or Google Workspace flow your staff use daily. Ask to see ransomware detection and lifecycle management in action on Enterprise Lite, since these are the governance features that justify the price step. If you need classification, DLP integration or customer-managed keys, request the Ultimate tier demo early, because those are not available lower down.
Questions to ask Egnyte before you sign
These are the points Egnyte's public pages leave open. Get the answers in writing before procurement signs off.
- Which plan includes SAML SSO, and what does it cost for our seat count?
- Is SCIM provisioning included, or a paid add-on?
- Which plan includes audit logs, and how long are they kept?
- Where is our data stored, and can we choose the region?
- Can we sign your standard DPA without changes?
- What will the price be at renewal, and is the increase capped?
Things to know before a demo
- Customer-managed keys only on Ultimate.
- Prices are annual-only; multi-year discount offered.
- Entry plan costs more than Dropbox or Google tiers.
Egnyte FAQ
What is Egnyte used for?
Mid-size companies that care more about governance and ransomware detection than raw storage should demo it. Business costs $22 per user monthly on annual billing. Customer-managed keys are limited to Ultimate, and data classification also sits on the top tier. It suits mid-size firms wanting governance and ransomware detection on file storage.
Who is Egnyte best for?
Mid-size firms that want governance and ransomware detection on file storage. Very small teams on a tight budget may find the $22 entry price too high.
Does Egnyte support customer-managed encryption keys?
Yes, but only on the Ultimate plan, which is sold through sales.
Which Egnyte plan includes ransomware detection?
Ransomware detection and lifecycle management start at Enterprise Lite, priced at $39 per user a month billed annually.
Sources
Every fact on this page comes from Egnyte's own pricing, product or documentation pages, G2 and company records, checked on October 24, 2026. Unknown values are left out instead of estimated.