Google Drive review (2026): features, pros and cons, and what to check before you buy

Google's file storage inside Google Workspace, sold as pooled storage per user across Workspace plans.

Researched by Max Benz · Facts checked October 24, 2026 · How we research

Our take for buyers

Google Drive is file storage with desktop sync included in every Google Workspace plan. Shortlist it if your team already uses Workspace email and Docs, or if you are a small organization of up to 300 users. Storage is pooled across the organization, and the desktop client is available on every plan. The desktop client is included on every plan, and the lower editions share one set of core protections.

No review scores are listed, and sharing controls, version recovery and integrations are not detailed, so you need to verify those yourself. The security feature split matters most: the stronger controls sit on Enterprise, and anything above 300 users forces that tier. Plan the edition around admin needs first, because storage size is the easy part of this decision.

Best for
Teams already on Google Workspace email and Docs.
Starting price
6.80 EUR per user/month annual (Starter); shown in EUR on the vendor site, no USD price published
G2 rating
No G2 rating found

What is Google Drive?

Google's file storage inside Google Workspace, sold as pooled storage per user across Workspace plans. Teams that already run email and Docs on Google Workspace get storage with no extra vendor. Starter, Standard and Plus pool 30 GB, 2 TB and 5 TB per user. Plans stop at 300 users, after which Enterprise is required, and prices are listed in euros.

Category: Cloud Storage and File Sharing

Google Drive key features

Google Drive features, checked October 24, 2026
CriterionWhat we found
Storage per user and limits30 GB (Starter), 2 TB (Standard), 5 TB (Plus) pooled per user.
Desktop sync qualityDrive for desktop on every plan.
Security and encryption2-step verification and Advanced Protection Program on all plans; S/MIME, DLP, context-aware access on Enterprise.
Compliance certificationsEnterprise data regions on Enterprise.
Pricing model and transparencyPer user, annual or flexible.
Target company sizeSmall business to enterprise.

Google Drive plans and pricing

Google Drive plans as published on October 24, 2026
PlanPriceUnitNotes
Starter6.80per user/month, annual30 GB pooled per user; up to 300 users
Standard13.60per user/month, annual2 TB pooled per user; up to 300 users
Plus21.10per user/month, annual5 TB pooled per user; up to 300 users
EnterpriseContact salescustom5 TB or more on request; no user limit

The vendor site showed an intro promo of 50% off for the first 20 users for 12 months (Nov 7 2026 to Feb 7 2027). Prices exclude tax and are shown in EUR; no USD price published on the vendor site.

Who should shortlist Google Drive

A strong fit for

  • Teams already on Google Workspace email and Docs.
  • Small organizations (plans up to 300 users) wanting low per-user cost.

A weak fit for

  • Teams wanting Drive without the rest of Workspace.
  • Organizations above 300 users on Starter, Standard or Plus (must move to Enterprise)

Google Drive alternatives

  • Microsoft OneDriveOrganizations already on Microsoft 365 and Entra ID.
  • Dropbox BusinessSmall teams (Standard is available from 1 user) wanting simple sync and sharing.
  • BoxRegulated organizations needing FedRAMP Moderate or HIPAA (Enterprise tier)
  • Zoho WorkDriveTeams already on Zoho Workplace or Zoho apps.
  • NextcloudPublic sector and EU organizations that need on-premises control.
  • EgnyteMid-size firms wanting governance and ransomware detection on file storage.

Security, admin and compliance

Two-step verification and the Advanced Protection Program are available on all plans. S/MIME, DLP and context-aware access are Enterprise only, as are data regions. SSO, SCIM, audit logs and a DPA are not stated for Drive, so ask Google for each, per edition. Starter, Standard and Plus cap at 300 users, so larger organizations must buy Enterprise. Support upgrades to Enhanced or Premium Support are a paid option on Enterprise. Contract terms are not stated.

Data residency
Enterprise data regions on Enterprise.

Contract and buying terms

Support
Paid upgrade to Enhanced/Premium Support on Enterprise.
Starting price
6.80 EUR per user/month annual (Starter); shown in EUR on the vendor site, no USD price published.
Pricing model
Per user, pooled storage, bundled in Workspace.
Free plan or trial
No.

What to test in a Google Drive demo or trial

Test the controls you care about, since the vendor pages do not detail sharing permissions or version recovery. Share a folder externally, change a permission, and delete and restore a file to see how recovery works. Install Drive for desktop and test sync on a large folder. Check how pooled storage behaves when one heavy user fills the quota. Then compare your needs against the edition split: DLP, S/MIME, context-aware access and data regions appear only on Enterprise, so decide early whether you need them.

Questions to ask Google Drive before you sign

These are the points Google Drive's public pages leave open. Get the answers in writing before procurement signs off.

  1. Which plan includes SAML SSO, and what does it cost for our seat count?
  2. Is SCIM provisioning included, or a paid add-on?
  3. Which plan includes audit logs, and how long are they kept?
  4. Can we sign your standard DPA without changes?
  5. Is there a monthly option, and what are the cancellation and renewal terms?
  6. What will the price be at renewal, and is the increase capped?

Things to know before a demo

  • Storage is pooled across the organization, so a 30 GB Starter user can use more if others use less.
  • Starter, Standard and Plus cap at 300 users.
  • Enterprise data regions, DLP and S/MIME appear only on Enterprise.
  • Annual commitment saves 16% per the pricing page.

Head-to-head comparisons

Google Drive FAQ

What is Google Drive used for?

Teams that already run email and Docs on Google Workspace get storage with no extra vendor. Starter, Standard and Plus pool 30 GB, 2 TB and 5 TB per user. Plans stop at 300 users, after which Enterprise is required, and prices are listed in euros. It suits teams already on Google Workspace email and Docs.

Does Google Drive have data residency options?

Data regions are listed on the Enterprise plan only. The lower editions do not offer them.

What is the user limit on Google Drive plans?

Starter, Standard and Plus are capped at 300 users. Enterprise has no user limit and is quote-based.

Which Google Drive plan has DLP?

DLP, S/MIME and context-aware access appear only on Enterprise. All plans include 2-step verification and the Advanced Protection Program.

Sources

Every fact on this page comes from Google Drive's own pricing, product or documentation pages, G2 and company records, checked on October 24, 2026. Unknown values are left out instead of estimated.

Sources (1)
  1. Workspace pricing page (workspace.google.com)