Flock review (2026): features, pros and cons, and what to check before you buy

Team messenger with channels, video and apps aimed at small and mid-size teams, with a free Starter plan.

Researched by Max Benz · Facts checked October 24, 2026 · How we research

Our take for buyers

Flock is a team messenger with channels, video and apps, aimed at small and mid-size teams. Shortlist it for teams of up to about 100 members that want low-cost chat. Do not shortlist it if you need SSO below Enterprise or large group video calls, since PRO group calls cap at 20 participants and the Enterprise limit is not stated.

G2 shows 4.4 from 301 reviews. Reviewers say it is easy to use and that channels and direct messages keep conversations organized. Complaints are fewer advanced features than larger rivals and mobile apps that need improvement. Starter limits you to 1:1 calls and 10,000 searchable messages, so evaluate on PRO if you plan to use group video and full history.

Pros

  • Easy to use.
  • Channels and direct messages keep conversations organized.

Cons

  • Fewer advanced features than larger rivals.
  • Mobile apps seen as needing improvement.
Best for
Small teams (up to about 100 members) wanting low-cost chat with a free tier.
Starting price
Free (Starter); PRO price not shown on current page
G2 rating
4.4 (301 reviews)

What is Flock?

Team messenger with channels, video and apps aimed at small and mid-size teams, with a free Starter plan. Best looked at by companies of roughly 20 to 100 people that want a cheap messenger with a free entry tier. Starter stops at 10 public channels and 10,000 searchable messages. Group calls on PRO top out at 20 people, and SSO needs Enterprise.

Category: Team Chat and Messaging Software

Flock key features

Flock features, checked October 24, 2026
CriterionWhat we found
Channels and threading10 public channels on Starter, unlimited on PRO and Enterprise.
Built-in video and huddlesStarter 1:1 only; PRO group calls up to 20 participants; Enterprise limit not stated.
Search and message history limits10,000 searchable messages on Starter; unlimited on PRO and Enterprise.
Guest and external accessPRO and Enterprise guests free for 90 days from invitation, then billed at member rate.
Security and admin controlsSSO Enterprise only; hosted on AWS; TLS 1.2.
Pricing model and transparencyFree tier, per-user PRO, quote-based Enterprise with member-count bands.
Target company sizeStarter 1 to 20, PRO 20 to 100, Enterprise 100+ members.

Flock plans and pricing

Flock plans as published on October 24, 2026
PlanPriceUnitNotes
Starter$01 to 20 members, 10,000 searchable messages, 10 public channels, 1:1 calls only, 5 GB per team
PROper user per month20 to 100 members, unlimited history and channels, group calls up to 20, 10 GB per member. Older Flock pages, roughly 6 years old, listed $4.50 per user per month billed annually (not confirmed by the vendor)
EnterpriseGet a quote100+ members, SSO, 20 GB per member

The vendor's current pricing page does not display PRO amounts. Yearly billing lowers per-user cost per FAQ.

Who should shortlist Flock

A strong fit for

  • Small teams (up to about 100 members) wanting low-cost chat with a free tier.
  • Teams that want unlimited search history without a large per-seat price.

A weak fit for

  • Buyers needing SSO below the Enterprise plan.
  • Teams needing large group video calls (PRO group calls cap at 20)

Flock alternatives

  • SlackTeams wanting channel-based chat with a large app ecosystem.
  • Microsoft TeamsOrganizations already on Microsoft 365 and Entra ID.
  • Zoho CliqTeams already on Zoho apps (CRM, Projects, Workplace) that want chat inside that suite.
  • ChantySmall teams wanting cheap per-user chat with tasks.
  • MattermostOrganizations that must self-host or run air-gapped chat.
  • ConnecteamFrontline and deskless teams needing scheduling, forms and chat in one mobile app.

Security, admin and compliance

SSO is Enterprise only, which means a 100+ member quote. SCIM, audit logs, a DPA and implementation details are not published. Flock is hosted on AWS with TLS 1.2, but region options are not stated. Guests are free for 90 days and then billed at the member rate, and subscriptions renew automatically. Ask for the SSO scope, region options, the DPA, audit logging and the PRO to Enterprise upgrade path.

SAML SSO
Enterprise only.
Data residency
Hosted on AWS; region options not stated.

Contract and buying terms

Contract
PRO cancellable at any time; monthly available.
Starting price
Free (Starter); PRO price not shown on current page.
Pricing model
Per user.
Free plan or trial
Free plan.

What to test in a Flock demo or trial

Trial on PRO limits, not Starter, if your team will outgrow 20 members. Test group video calls with a realistic participant count against the 20-person cap. Check channels and direct messages with real workflows, then test the mobile apps, since reviewers say they need improvement. Look at the integrations you rely on, as no integration count is published. Confirm what you lose by staying on Starter: 10 public channels, 10,000 searchable messages and 1:1 calls only.

Questions to ask Flock before you sign

These are the points Flock's public pages leave open. Get the answers in writing before procurement signs off.

  1. Is SCIM provisioning included, or a paid add-on?
  2. Which plan includes audit logs, and how long are they kept?
  3. Can we sign your standard DPA without changes?
  4. What will the price be at renewal, and is the increase capped?

Things to know before a demo

  • Plans are gated by team size band (1-20, 20-100, 100+), which can force a plan change as you grow.
  • Guests are free only for 90 days, then count as paid members.
  • SSO is Enterprise only, which means a 100+ member quote.
  • Group video on PRO caps at 20 people.

Flock FAQ

What is Flock used for?

Best looked at by companies of roughly 20 to 100 people that want a cheap messenger with a free entry tier. Starter stops at 10 public channels and 10,000 searchable messages. Group calls on PRO top out at 20 people, and SSO needs Enterprise. It suits small teams (up to about 100 members) wanting low-cost chat with a free tier.

Does Flock support SSO?

Only on the Enterprise plan, which is for 100+ members and quoted. PRO does not include SSO.

Where is Flock hosted?

Flock is hosted on AWS and uses TLS 1.2. Region options are not stated, so ask the vendor.

Who is Flock best for?

Small teams of up to about 100 members that want low-cost chat with a free tier. Teams needing large group video or SSO below Enterprise are a poor fit.

Sources

Every fact on this page comes from Flock's own pricing, product or documentation pages, G2 and company records, checked on October 24, 2026. Unknown values are left out instead of estimated.

Sources (3)
  1. pricing page and FAQ (flock.com)
  2. g2.com
  3. flock.com