
Freshdesk review (2026): features, pros and cons, and what to check before you buy
Help desk from Freshworks with three per-agent plans, session-based AI pricing and a built-in knowledge base.
Our take for buyers
Freshdesk suits SMB support teams that want SAML SSO on every plan without paying for the top tier. Growth, Pro and Enterprise all include it, which is unusual at this price point. It holds a 4.4 rating from 3,750 G2 reviews and lists SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001:2022, ISO 27701 and several other certifications. A public DPA is available on the Freshworks trust site.
The gap is audit logs, which sit on Enterprise only, and SCIM is not mentioned. Data residency is not stated beyond hosting on AWS, and support tiers are not described. If your security team needs audit logs or provisioning on a mid-tier budget, test those requirements early rather than assuming them.
- Best for
- SMB support teams wanting low entry price and SAML SSO on every plan.
- Starting price
- $19 per agent/month billed annually (Growth)
- G2 rating
- 4.4 (3,750 reviews)
What is Freshdesk?
Help desk from Freshworks with three per-agent plans, session-based AI pricing and a built-in knowledge base. Support teams at small and mid-size firms get SAML SSO on every plan and a knowledge base from the start, with Growth at $19 per agent monthly on annual billing. AI chatbot sessions are metered beyond 500, and audit logs need Enterprise, so test both in the trial.
Category: Help Desk Software, Knowledge Base Software
Freshdesk key features
| Criterion | What we found |
|---|---|
| Ticket automation and routing | Intelligent routing and multiple SLA policies on Pro; skill-based routing on Enterprise. |
| Knowledge base and self-service | Knowledge base and customer portal on all plans. |
| AI agents and assistance | Freddy AI Agent: 500 sessions included, extra $49 per 100; Copilot $29/agent/month (add-on on Pro, included on Enterprise) |
| Reporting and SLA tracking | Custom dashboards on Pro; Freddy AI Insights on Enterprise. |
| Integrations | Connector app tasks $80 per 5,000. |
| Pricing model | Per agent plus AI session packs. |
| Target company size | SMB to mid-market tiers. |
Freshdesk plans and pricing
| Plan | Price | Unit | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Growth | $19 | per agent/month, annual | |
| Pro | $55 | per agent/month, annual | Multiple SLA policies, intelligent routing |
| Enterprise | $89 | per agent/month, annual | Audit logs, sandbox, skill-based routing, IP allowlist, 14-day trial runs on this plan |
Annual saves 20%; monthly prices not listed. The vendor's page description says 'from $15' but the lowest listed price is $19.
Who should shortlist Freshdesk
A strong fit for
- SMB support teams wanting low entry price and SAML SSO on every plan.
- Teams with moderate AI chatbot volume (500 sessions included)
A weak fit for
- Teams needing audit logs without paying for Enterprise.
- Teams wanting a free plan (none listed)
Freshdesk alternatives
ZendeskSupport teams that want a broad omnichannel suite with a regional data hosting option.
FreshserviceIT teams that need a help desk and CMDB first and license tracking second.
Zoho DeskSmall teams that want a free 3-agent start.
Help ScoutSmall support teams under 25 users that want a simple inbox plus Docs.
BloomfireMid-size and enterprise teams that want a company-wide Q&A and knowledge library with search as the main feature.
ConfluenceTeams already on Jira or Jira Service Management.
Security, admin and compliance
Published points: SAML SSO on all plans, audit logs on Enterprise only, a public DPA at trust.freshworks.com, and certifications including SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001:2022, ISO 27701, SOC 1 Type 2, Cyber Essentials Plus and CSA STAR Level 1. Not published: SCIM, data residency beyond hosting on AWS, and support tier details. On contract terms, you can pay monthly or annually, with cancellation effective at term end. Phone purchase orders and PayPal are not accepted.
- SAML SSO
- SAML SSO on all plans.
- Audit logs
- Enterprise only.
- Data residency
- Not stated by the vendor; hosted on AWS.
- Public DPA
- Yes (public DPA on trust.freshworks.com)
- Certifications
- SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001:2022, ISO 27701, SOC 1 Type 2, Cyber Essentials Plus, CSA STAR Level 1.
Contract and buying terms
- Contract
- Monthly option exists; cancellation effective at end of term.
- Support
- Support tiers not stated by the vendor.
- Starting price
- $19 per agent/month billed annually (Growth)
- Pricing model
- Per agent.
- Free plan or trial
- Free trial.
What to test in a Freshdesk demo or trial
Run the 14-day trial knowing it runs on the Enterprise plan, so check which features you would lose on Growth or Pro. Test intelligent routing and multiple SLA policies, which start on Pro, and skill-based routing, which is Enterprise. Build a real knowledge base article and check the customer portal. Measure how the Freddy AI Agent counts sessions on your actual ticket mix, because a 72-hour email window counts as one session. Try a day pass if you have occasional agents, and confirm what you lose on the lower plan.
Questions to ask Freshdesk before you sign
These are the points Freshdesk's public pages leave open. Get the answers in writing before procurement signs off.
- Is SCIM provisioning included, or a paid add-on?
- What will the price be at renewal, and is the increase capped?
Things to know before a demo
- SAML SSO is on all plans but audit logs are Enterprise only.
- AI is priced per session (a 72-hour email window counts as one), not per resolution.
- Day passes for occasional agents: $2 Growth, $7 Pro, $12 Enterprise.
- Trial needs a card to continue, otherwise the account is suspended.
- Phone purchase orders and PayPal not accepted.
Head-to-head comparisons
Freshdesk FAQ
What is Freshdesk used for?
Support teams at small and mid-size firms get SAML SSO on every plan and a knowledge base from the start, with Growth at $19 per agent monthly on annual billing. AI chatbot sessions are metered beyond 500, and audit logs need Enterprise, so test both in the trial. It suits SMB support teams wanting low entry price and SAML SSO on every plan.
Does Freshdesk support SAML SSO?
Yes. SAML SSO is listed on all plans, including Growth. That makes it easier to meet an SSO requirement without buying Enterprise.
Which Freshdesk plan includes audit logs?
Audit logs are Enterprise only, at $89 per agent per month billed annually. Enterprise also adds sandbox, skill-based routing and an IP allowlist.
Does Freshdesk offer a data processing agreement?
Yes. A public DPA is available on trust.freshworks.com. Data residency is not stated by the vendor beyond hosting on AWS, so ask about region options if that matters.
Sources
Every fact on this page comes from Freshdesk's own pricing, product or documentation pages, G2 and company records, checked on October 24, 2026. Unknown values are left out instead of estimated.