
Help Scout review (2026): features, pros and cons, and what to check before you buy
Shared-inbox style help desk with a built-in Docs knowledge base and per-resolution AI pricing.
Our take for buyers
Help Scout is a shared-inbox help desk with a built-in Docs knowledge base, best for small support teams under 25 users that want a simple setup. Teams needing HIPAA support should look at the Pro plan, which comes with a BAA. It also offers a Free plan for up to 5 users and a public DPA. A BAA is required for HIPAA.
G2 shows 4.4 from 428 reviews. Pricing is public, with Free for up to 5 users, Standard, Plus and Pro. The plan structure shapes the purchase: Standard tops out at 25 users, Plus at 50, and Pro needs at least 10. Teams that need SSO below Pro should plan for an add-on. It is a poor fit if you need enterprise identity controls without moving to Pro.
- Best for
- Small support teams under 25 users that want a simple inbox plus Docs.
- Starting price
- Free up to 5 users; Standard $25 per user/month
- G2 rating
- 4.4 (428 reviews)
What is Help Scout?
Shared-inbox style help desk with a built-in Docs knowledge base and per-resolution AI pricing. Under 25 users and want a plain inbox with Docs attached? Free works up to five people, Standard is $25 per user, and AI Answers are billed $0.75 per resolution with an optional spend cap. HIPAA with a BAA, and SSO, require the Pro plan.
Category: Help Desk Software, Knowledge Base Software
Help Scout key features
| Criterion | What we found |
|---|---|
| Ticket automation and routing | Advanced workflows and round robin on Plus; unlimited workflows and SLAs on Pro. |
| Knowledge base and self-service | Docs site included (1 on Free; additional sites $20/month annual) |
| AI agents and assistance | AI Answers $0.75 per resolution; monthly spend cap available; 3 months free for new accounts. |
| Integrations | Salesforce, Jira, HubSpot on Plus. |
| Pricing model | Per user plus per-resolution AI. |
| Target company size | Under 25 users on Standard; Pro for larger. |
Help Scout plans and pricing
| Plan | Price | Unit | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | up to 5 users | 1 inbox, 1 Docs site, 100 contacts/month |
| Standard | $25 | per user/month | Up to 25 users; 100 contacts/month; 15-day trial |
| Plus | $45 | per user/month | Up to 50 users; unlimited contacts; Salesforce, Jira, HubSpot |
| Pro | $75 | per user/month | Minimum 10 users; SSO/SAML, HIPAA; trial via sales |
Annual toggle shows 16% discount; annual and monthly prices are not listed separately here.
Who should shortlist Help Scout
A strong fit for
- Small support teams under 25 users that want a simple inbox plus Docs.
- Teams needing HIPAA support (Pro plan, BAA)
A weak fit for
- Teams needing SSO below the Pro plan (SSO is an add-on or Pro, 10 users minimum)
Help Scout alternatives
ZendeskSupport teams that want a broad omnichannel suite with a regional data hosting option.
FreshdeskSMB support teams wanting low entry price and SAML SSO on every plan.
Zoho DeskSmall teams that want a free 3-agent start.
HubSpot Service HubCompanies already on HubSpot CRM wanting tickets tied to contact records.
BloomfireMid-size and enterprise teams that want a company-wide Q&A and knowledge library with search as the main feature.
ConfluenceTeams already on Jira or Jira Service Management.
Security, admin and compliance
Help Scout lists SOC 2 Type 2 (Security and Availability) and HIPAA with a BAA. A public DPA exists. It is hosted on AWS, with the region not stated. SSO/SAML is included on Pro or available as an add-on on lower tiers. SCIM, audit logs and a contract length are not published. Support is email on Free and Standard, priority email on Plus and Pro, and a strategic account manager on Pro.
- SAML SSO
- Pro includes SSO/SAML; add-on on lower tiers.
- Data residency
- AWS, region not published.
- Public DPA
- Yes (helpscout.com/company/legal/dpa/)
- Certifications
- SOC 2 Type 2 (Security and Availability), HIPAA (BAA required)
Contract and buying terms
- Implementation
- Pro includes onboarding specialist.
- Support
- Email on Free/Standard; priority email on Plus and Pro; strategic account manager on Pro.
- Starting price
- Free up to 5 users; Standard $25 per user/month.
- Pricing model
- Per user.
- Free plan or trial
- Free plan, Free trial.
What to test in a Help Scout demo or trial
Use the trial to test the shared inbox and Docs with your real workflow. Standard has a 15 day trial, while Pro's trial runs through sales, so ask for it early if you need SSO or HIPAA. Test the AI Answers feature against real customer questions and set a monthly spend cap to see how resolutions are counted. Check whether the integrations you need (Salesforce, Jira and HubSpot are on Plus) match your plan tier, and whether you hit the 100 contacts per month cap on Free and Standard.
Questions to ask Help Scout before you sign
These are the points Help Scout's public pages leave open. Get the answers in writing before procurement signs off.
- Is SCIM provisioning included, or a paid add-on?
- Which plan includes audit logs, and how long are they kept?
- Is there a monthly option, and what are the cancellation and renewal terms?
- What will the price be at renewal, and is the increase capped?
Things to know before a demo
- Free and Standard cap contacts at 100 per month.
- AI Answers is $0.75 per resolution with an optional monthly spending cap.
- Pro requires at least 10 users and holds SSO/SAML and HIPAA.
- Hosted on AWS, region not stated; public DPA exists.
- Extra inboxes $10/month annual, extra Docs sites $20/month annual.
Head-to-head comparisons
Help Scout FAQ
What is Help Scout used for?
Under 25 users and want a plain inbox with Docs attached? Free works up to five people, Standard is $25 per user, and AI Answers are billed $0.75 per resolution with an optional spend cap. HIPAA with a BAA, and SSO, require the Pro plan. It suits small support teams under 25 users that want a simple inbox plus Docs.
Does Help Scout support SAML SSO?
Yes. Pro includes SSO/SAML, and lower tiers can add it as an add-on. Pro has a minimum of 10 users.
Does Help Scout offer HIPAA support?
Yes, HIPAA is listed with a BAA required, and it sits on the Pro plan. The vendor also lists SOC 2 Type 2 for Security and Availability.
Who is Help Scout best for?
Small support teams under 25 users that want a simple inbox plus Docs, and teams needing HIPAA support on Pro. Teams that need SSO below Pro will pay for an add-on.
Sources
Every fact on this page comes from Help Scout's own pricing, product or documentation pages, G2 and company records, checked on October 24, 2026. Unknown values are left out instead of estimated.