
Bonsai review (2026): features, pros and cons, and what to check before you buy
Bonsai provides client-facing proposal templates at essentials for freelance services, agencies and consultants, with paid access and plan-level tradeoffs.
Our take for buyers
Bonsai is worth shortlisting for independent consultants and service firms that want proposals, contracts, invoices and payments in one workflow. It fits teams with a single client and billing flow. It is a weaker fit for sales teams that need deep CRM document automation, and the $9 Basic tier cannot be judged as a proposal tool because it has no proposals.
Reviewers praise simplified contracts and invoicing and the combined freelance workflow. Complaints mention missing features, limited customization, and some integration and support friction. G2 lists no rating for Bonsai, so there is little public scoring to lean on. The vendor does not publish security certifications on its pricing page, which makes security a point to raise in any vendor conversation before you sign.
Pros
- Users mention simplified contracts and invoicing.
- Reviewers value the combined freelance workflow.
Cons
- Reviews mention missing features and limited customization.
- Users describe some integration and support friction.
- Best for
- Independent consultants needing proposals and invoicing together.
- Starting price
- $19/user/month billed annually (Essentials with proposals)
- G2 rating
- No G2 rating found
What is Bonsai?
Bonsai provides client-facing proposal templates at essentials for freelance services, agencies and consultants, with paid access and plan-level tradeoffs. Bonsai connects proposals to service projects, contracts, invoices and payments. The cheapest Basic subscription does not contain the proposal tools; Essentials is the meaningful entry tier for a team buying it specifically to send offers.
Category: Proposal Management Software
Bonsai key features
| Criterion | What we found |
|---|---|
| Proposal editor and content controls | Client-facing proposal templates at Essentials. |
| Interactive pricing | Pricing and estimates within proposals. |
| Electronic signing | Contracts on Essentials. |
| Internal approvals | Custom permissions on Elite. |
| CRM integration | Accounting integrations on Premium. |
| Buyer engagement analytics | Project financial reporting on Premium. |
| Pricing model | Per-user pricing; proposals begin at Essentials. |
| Target company size | Freelance services, agencies and consultants. |
Bonsai plans and pricing
| Plan | Price | Unit | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Basic | $9/user/month billed annually | 1 user | Projects and CRM; proposals not included |
| Essentials | $19/user/month billed annually | 1 user | Proposals, contracts, invoices and payments |
| Premium | $29/user/month billed annually | 1 user | Reporting and accounting integrations |
| Elite | $49/user/month billed annually | 3 user minimum | Custom permissions and data import |
US vendor pricing checked 2026-10-28. Ask about taxes, add-ons and send limits.
Who should shortlist Bonsai
A strong fit for
- Independent consultants needing proposals and invoicing together.
- Service firms combining project delivery and client approvals.
- Teams with a single client and billing workflow.
A weak fit for
- Sales teams needing deep CRM document automation.
- Buyers comparing only the $9 Basic tier for proposals.
Bonsai alternatives
PandaDocSales teams generating quotes and contracts from templates and CRM data.
QwilrSmall and mid-size sales teams that send proposals and quotes and want to see buyer engagement.
GetAcceptDeal-room and proposal collaboration.
ProposifyGrowing teams that need discount or document approvals.
Better ProposalsBudget-conscious agencies that need signing and payments.
HoneyBookClient-service firms combining booking and proposal work.
Security, admin and compliance
Bonsai does not publish an SSO entitlement, and SCIM is not stated. Custom permissions appear on Elite, which has a three-user minimum. Data residency is not confirmed and no security certifications are listed, so ask for them. Data Processing Addendum terms need a privacy review. Support is offered online. Both annual-discounted and monthly plans are published, so check which you are signing and how renewal works.
- SAML SSO
- SSO entitlement not established.
- SCIM provisioning
- SCIM not stated.
- Audit logs
- Custom permissions appear on Elite.
- Data residency
- Data residency not confirmed.
- Public DPA
- DPA terms require privacy review.
Contract and buying terms
- Contract
- Annual discounts and monthly plans published.
- Implementation
- 7-day trial stated on pricing page.
- Support
- Online support offered by vendor.
- Starting price
- $19/user/month billed annually (Essentials with proposals)
- Pricing model
- Per user.
- Free plan or trial
- Free trial.
What to test in a Bonsai demo or trial
Run the trial on Essentials, since that is the first plan with proposals, and take one real client from proposal through contract to invoice and payment. Check how far templates can be customized, because reviewers mention limited customization and missing features. Test the accounting integration if you need one, noting it is on Premium, and contact support during the trial to see how responsive it is, since reviewers describe support friction. The trial is 7 days, so prepare your sample data first.
Questions to ask Bonsai before you sign
These are the points Bonsai's public pages leave open. Get the answers in writing before procurement signs off.
- What will the price be at renewal, and is the increase capped?
Things to know before a demo
- The $9 Basic plan has no proposals; Essentials is the true entry price.
- Elite requires three users.
- Accounting integrations are on Premium, not the proposal-entry plan.
Bonsai FAQ
What is Bonsai used for?
Bonsai connects proposals to service projects, contracts, invoices and payments. The cheapest Basic subscription does not contain the proposal tools; Essentials is the meaningful entry tier for a team buying it specifically to send offers. It suits independent consultants needing proposals and invoicing together.
Does Bonsai support SSO?
Bonsai does not publish an SSO entitlement, and SCIM is not stated. Ask the vendor before you buy if you need either.
Who is Bonsai best for?
Independent consultants and service firms that want proposals and invoicing together, and teams with a single client and billing workflow. Sales teams needing deep CRM document automation should look elsewhere.
Which Bonsai plan should I trial for proposals?
Essentials, at $19 per user per month billed annually. It is the first plan with proposals, contracts, invoices and payments.
Sources
Every fact on this page comes from Bonsai's own pricing, product or documentation pages, G2 and company records, checked on October 24, 2026. Unknown values are left out instead of estimated.