
Trello review (2026): features, pros and cons, and what to check before you buy
Card-based Kanban board tool from Atlassian that stays simple for small teams and adds timeline, calendar and dashboard views on paid plans.
Our take for buyers
Trello is a Kanban board tool from Atlassian that suits small teams and departments wanting a visual workflow with almost no setup. Shortlist it if your work fits cards and columns, or if your company already runs on Atlassian products such as Jira. It is a weaker fit for portfolios with many dependent projects, and it has no native time tracking or resource management.
Trello has a 4.4 rating on G2 across 14,050 reviews, with ease of use as the main theme. Reviewers also report that it struggles with large volumes of tasks and many team members. The practical question for a buyer is whether your teams will stay small and simple, or whether you will outgrow the board model within a year.
Pros
- Very easy to set up and learn.
- Clean drag-and-drop boards suit simple workflows.
- Generous free tier.
Cons
- No native time tracking.
- Struggles with large volumes of tasks and many team members.
- Some Power-Ups are limited or cost extra.
- Best for
- Small teams that want a visual Kanban board with minimal setup.
- Starting price
- $5 per user per month billed annually (Standard)
- G2 rating
- 4.4 (14,050 reviews)
What is Trello?
Card-based Kanban board tool from Atlassian that stays simple for small teams and adds timeline, calendar and dashboard views on paid plans. Pick it for small teams that need a drag-and-drop Kanban board running in an afternoon. Check what you need on paid tiers (calendar, timeline, dashboards), and plan Power-Ups for time tracking, since none is native. SSO means a separate Atlassian Guard subscription. Trello was founded in 2011.
Category: Project Management Software
Trello key features
| Criterion | What we found |
|---|---|
| Task views and planning | Board view on all plans; Calendar, Timeline, Table, Dashboard and Map views on Premium and up. |
| Workflow automation | Built-in automation on every board; 250 command runs per month Free, 1,000 Standard, unlimited Premium and Enterprise. |
| Time tracking and budgets | No native time tracking listed on the pricing page; third-party Power-Ups needed (G2 reviewers also mention this) |
| Reporting and dashboards | Dashboard view on Premium and Enterprise. |
| Integrations | Unlimited Power-Ups per board; page cites 200+ apps. |
| Pricing model and real cost | Per user per month; Free plan capped at 10 collaborators per Workspace. |
| Target company size | Small teams and departments; Enterprise tier for larger orgs. |
Trello plans and pricing
| Plan | Price | Unit | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | per Workspace | Up to 10 collaborators and 10 boards per Workspace, 250 Workspace command runs per month |
| Standard | $5 annual / $6 monthly | per user per month | 1,000 command runs per month |
| Premium | $10 annual / $12.50 monthly | per user per month | Adds Calendar, Timeline, Table, Dashboard, Map views; unlimited command runs |
| Enterprise | $17.50 per user per month, billed annually ($210 per user per year) | per user | Includes SSO and user provisioning via Atlassian Guard; 24/7 Enterprise Admin support |
Some partner Power-Ups cost extra.
Who should shortlist Trello
A strong fit for
- Small teams that want a visual Kanban board with minimal setup.
- Teams already on Atlassian products.
- Free-tier users with up to 10 collaborators per Workspace.
A weak fit for
- Teams needing built-in time tracking or resource management.
- Large portfolios with many dependent projects.
- Teams wanting SSO without a separate Atlassian Guard subscription.
Trello alternatives
AsanaCross-functional teams that want timelines and unlimited automations from the Starter tier.
monday.comSmall and mid-size teams that want customizable boards and many automations.
ClickUpSmall and mid-size teams that want one flexible tool replacing several apps.
NotionStartups and small teams combining wiki and project tracking.
TeamworkAgencies and professional services teams billing client work.
JiraSoftware and IT teams running agile sprints and backlogs.
Security, admin and compliance
Trello's pricing page ties SSO to Atlassian Guard: Enterprise includes SSO and user provisioning, while Standard and Premium need a separate Guard subscription. SCIM, audit logs, data residency and a DPA are not listed on the pricing page, so ask for them in writing. Support is help articles on Free and 24/7 Enterprise Admin support on Enterprise, and support on the other tiers is not stated. Standard and Premium can be bought monthly or annually, and Enterprise is annual only.
- SAML SSO
- Enterprise includes SSO via Atlassian Guard; Standard and Premium need a separate Atlassian Guard subscription.
Contract and buying terms
- Contract
- Standard and Premium available monthly or annually; Enterprise annual only.
- Support
- Free: help articles; Enterprise: 24/7 Enterprise Admin support; others not stated.
- Starting price
- $5 per user per month billed annually (Standard)
- Pricing model
- Per user.
- Free plan or trial
- Free plan.
What to test in a Trello demo or trial
In a trial, build one real project and push it past a toy example. Load a few hundred cards and add the full team to see whether the board stays usable, since reviewers say Trello struggles at that scale. Check which views you actually need, because Calendar, Timeline, Table, Dashboard and Map are Premium and up. Run your key automations against the command limits of 250 on Free and 1,000 on Standard. Test the Jira and Slack connections, and list any Power-Ups you need and what each one costs.
Questions to ask Trello before you sign
These are the points Trello's public pages leave open. Get the answers in writing before procurement signs off.
- Is SCIM provisioning included, or a paid add-on?
- Which plan includes audit logs, and how long are they kept?
- Where is our data stored, and can we choose the region?
- Can we sign your standard DPA without changes?
- What will the price be at renewal, and is the increase capped?
Things to know before a demo
- Standard and Premium do not list SSO; SAML SSO needs the separate Atlassian Guard subscription (from $4 per user per month per Trello pricing page) unless on Enterprise.
- Free plan limit is 10 collaborators per Workspace, not per board.
- Timeline, Calendar, Table and Dashboard views start at Premium, $10 per user per month annual.
- Enterprise is annual only at $210 per user per year.
- Trello was acquired by Atlassian in 2017 after launching in 2011.
Head-to-head comparisons
Trello FAQ
What is Trello used for?
Pick it for small teams that need a drag-and-drop Kanban board running in an afternoon. Check what you need on paid tiers (calendar, timeline, dashboards), and plan Power-Ups for time tracking, since none is native. SSO means a separate Atlassian Guard subscription. It suits small teams that want a visual Kanban board with minimal setup.
Does Trello support SSO?
Yes, but not on every plan. Enterprise includes SSO via Atlassian Guard, while Standard and Premium need a separate Atlassian Guard subscription.
Who is Trello best for?
Small teams that want a visual Kanban board with minimal setup, and teams already on Atlassian products. It is not a fit for large portfolios of dependent projects or teams that need built-in time tracking.
Does Trello publish SCIM or audit log details?
Not on its pricing page. Enterprise lists user provisioning via Atlassian Guard, but SCIM, audit logs and data residency are not described, so request them in writing before you sign.
Vendor profile
- Founded
- 2011.
- Funding or owner
- Acquired by Atlassian in 2017.
Sources
Every fact on this page comes from Trello's own pricing, product or documentation pages, G2 and company records, checked on October 24, 2026. Unknown values are left out instead of estimated.