Zoho Projects review (2026): features, pros and cons, and what to check before you buy

Low-priced project management from Zoho with Gantt, timesheets and budgeting, tied into the wider Zoho suite.

Researched by Max Benz · Facts checked October 24, 2026 · How we research

Our take for buyers

Zoho Projects is project management for small and midsize teams. It offers list, Kanban and Gantt views, dependencies, critical path, baselines, time tracking, budgets and portfolio dashboards. It lists 32 integrations plus Zapier and Zoho Flow, and importers for Microsoft Project, Jira and Basecamp. G2 shows 4.3 from about 560 reviews, and reviewers say the depth is good for the price.

From a buying view, it publishes a fair amount: ISO/IEC 27001 and AICPA SOC logos appear on Zoho's pages (the SOC level is not stated), SSO is on Enterprise and Ultimate, and a DPA is available on request. Audit logs and SCIM are not published. Reviewers cite the interface, the learning curve and support quality as weak spots.

Pros

  • Feature depth for the price (G2 summaries)
  • Drag-and-drop scheduling and task prioritization.

Cons

  • Interface and learning curve.
  • Support scores lower than some competitors (G2 summaries)
Best for
Small teams already using Zoho apps.
Starting price
Free (3 projects, up to 5 users); Premium $4 per user per month billed annually (third-party)
G2 rating
4.3 (560 reviews)

What is Zoho Projects?

Low-priced project management from Zoho with Gantt, timesheets and budgeting, tied into the wider Zoho suite. Zoho Projects offers Gantt charts with dependencies, critical path and baselines, timesheets, budgets and workload checks. It works best for small teams already inside the Zoho suite, with a plainer interface than some rivals.

Category: Project Management Software

Zoho Projects key features

Zoho Projects features, checked October 24, 2026
CriterionWhat we found
Task views and planningList, simple list, Kanban and Gantt with dependencies, critical path and baselines.
Workflow automationBlueprints, business rules, workflow rules, webhooks, SLAs, custom functions; 5,000 runs/month on Premium.
Workload and resource managementWorkload check while assigning, planned vs actual hours per user.
Time tracking and budgetsManual or timer, approvals, planned vs actual budgets, earned value.
Reporting and dashboardsProject and portfolio dashboards; Zoho Analytics with 50+ prebuilt reports.
Integrations32 listed integrations plus Zapier and Zoho Flow; importers for Microsoft Project, Jira, Basecamp.
Pricing model and real costPer user per month with free tier for 5 users.
Target company sizeSmall and mid-size teams.

Zoho Projects plans and pricing

Zoho Projects plans as published on October 24, 2026
PlanPriceUnitNotes
Free$0user3 projects, 5 GB, up to 5 users (vendor)
Premium$4 annual / $5 monthly (Capterra/tech.co; not confirmed on vendor page)user/monthUnlimited projects, 100 GB, time tracking, budgeting
Enterprise$9 annual / $10 monthly (third-party)user/monthIncludes SSO, custom roles, sandbox, 120 GB
Ultimate$14 annual / $15 monthly (third-party)user/monthMulti-user timesheets, 150 GB min per org

Prices are from third-party sources (Capterra, tech.co, checked 2026-10-24) and not confirmed on the vendor page. Vendor says annual saves over 15%. 15-day trial.

Who should shortlist Zoho Projects

A strong fit for

  • Small teams already using Zoho apps.
  • Budget-conscious teams needing Gantt, timesheets and budgets.

A weak fit for

  • Teams wanting a polished interface (G2 summaries cite UI and learning curve)
  • Buyers needing SSO on the cheapest plan.

Zoho Projects alternatives

  • AsanaCross-functional teams that want timelines and unlimited automations from the Starter tier.
  • ClickUpSmall and mid-size teams that want one flexible tool replacing several apps.
  • WrikeMid-size teams running cross-functional projects with approvals.
  • TeamworkAgencies and professional services teams billing client work.
  • monday.comSmall and mid-size teams that want customizable boards and many automations.
  • JiraSoftware and IT teams running agile sprints and backlogs.

Security, admin and compliance

Published: ISO/IEC 27001 and AICPA SOC logos appear on Zoho's pages, with the SOC level not stated. SSO is on Enterprise and Ultimate, and a DPA is available on request from legal@zohocorp.com, where you should state your data center. Region is chosen at signup, but locations are not listed. Not published: SCIM and audit logs. Premium support plans add 24/5 chat and phone. There is no long-term contract. Ask for the SOC report and region list.

SAML SSO
Enterprise and Ultimate.
Data residency
Region chosen at signup; locations not listed by the vendor.
Public DPA
Yes, on request (legal@zohocorp.com)
Certifications
ISO/IEC 27001 (logo on Zoho GDPR page), AICPA SOC (logo, level not stated)

Contract and buying terms

Contract
No long-term contract; monthly plan available.
Implementation
Premium support plans include onboarding and configuration help.
Support
Premium support plans add 24/5 live chat and phone; lower plans not detailed.
Starting price
Free (3 projects, up to 5 users); Premium $4 per user per month billed annually (third-party)
Pricing model
Per user.
Free plan or trial
Free plan, Free trial.

What to test in a Zoho Projects demo or trial

Build one real project with a Gantt chart, dependencies and a baseline, then log time and compare planned against actual budget. Reviewers cite the interface and learning curve, so have a non-expert try drag-and-drop scheduling and task prioritization. Test the integrations you depend on, such as Slack, Microsoft Teams, GitHub or Zoho CRM, and try an importer from Jira or Microsoft Project if you are migrating. Check the monthly workflow run caps against your automation. Contact support during the trial, since reviewers rate it lower than competitors.

Questions to ask Zoho Projects before you sign

These are the points Zoho Projects's public pages leave open. Get the answers in writing before procurement signs off.

  1. Is SCIM provisioning included, or a paid add-on?
  2. Which plan includes audit logs, and how long are they kept?
  3. What will the price be at renewal, and is the increase capped?

Things to know before a demo

  • Prices are not confirmed on the vendor page; check the live page before quoting.
  • SSO appears on Enterprise and above.
  • Enterprise includes 10 read-only users, Ultimate 100.
  • Workflow runs capped per month: 50 Free, 5,000 Premium, 50,000 Enterprise, 500,000 Ultimate.
  • DPA available on request via legal@zohocorp.com (state your data center)

Zoho Projects FAQ

What is Zoho Projects used for?

Zoho Projects offers Gantt charts with dependencies, critical path and baselines, timesheets, budgets and workload checks. It works best for small teams already inside the Zoho suite, with a plainer interface than some rivals. It suits small teams already using Zoho apps.

Does Zoho Projects support SAML SSO?

SSO appears on Enterprise and Ultimate. The identity providers supported are not listed, so confirm with Zoho.

Can I get a DPA?

Yes, on request from legal@zohocorp.com. State your data center when you ask.

Who is Zoho Projects best for?

Small teams already using Zoho apps and budget-conscious teams needing Gantt, timesheets and budgets. Teams wanting a polished interface may be less happy.

Sources

Every fact on this page comes from Zoho Projects's own pricing, product or documentation pages, G2 and company records, checked on October 24, 2026. Unknown values are left out instead of estimated.

Sources (5)
  1. plans and limits (zoho.com)
  2. features (zoho.com)
  3. DPA and certification logos (zoho.com)
  4. capterra.com
  5. g2.com