Zoom Workplace alternatives (2026): 8 tools compared for buyers
Looking for an alternative to Zoom Workplace? These 8 tools do the same job with a different focus. Each one is compared on who it suits, its key features, pros and cons, and what each vendor publishes on security, admin and contract terms.
Why buyers look beyond Zoom Workplace
- Feature set seen as limited versus suites.
- Connectivity issues and meeting fatigue.
- Teams that want a chat-first workspace with a large app ecosystem.
- Free-tier users needing meetings longer than 40 minutes.
From Zoom Workplace's published plan limits and recurring themes in public reviews. See the Zoom Workplace review for the full picture.
Zoom Workplace alternatives at a glance
| Tool | Best for | Starting price | Free plan or trial |
|---|---|---|---|
| Teams whose main need is reliable video meetings with chat attached. | $14.16 per user/month billed annually (Pro); $16.99 billed monthly | Free plan | |
| Organizations already on Microsoft 365 and Entra ID. | $4.00/user/month paid yearly (Teams Essentials) | Free plan | |
| Teams already on Google Workspace that want meetings tied to Calendar and Gmail. | $7 per user/month (Business Starter, annual commitment) | Free plan, Free trial | |
| Enterprises that want meetings plus calling and room hardware from one vendor. | Free plan; paid tiers not published by the vendor (third-party lists Meet about $12 per user/month annual) | Free plan | |
| Teams wanting channel-based chat with a large app ecosystem. | $8.75/user/month monthly, about $7.25/user/month billed annually (Pro) | Free plan | |
| Small and mid-size businesses that want per-organizer pricing instead of per-attendee. | USD 12 per organizer/month billed annually (Professional) | Free trial | |
| Frontline and deskless teams needing scheduling, forms and chat in one mobile app. | Free for up to 10 users; paid from $29/month (Basic, first 30 users) per hub | Free plan, Free trial | |
| Teams already buying Dialpad for calling that want meetings in the same app. | $15 user/month (Dialpad Connect Standard) | No | |
| Marketing teams running recurring webinars with unlimited team members. | Pro from EUR 2.50 per attendee (EUR only) | Free trial |
The 8 best Zoom Workplace alternatives
Microsoft Teams
Microsoft's chat, meetings and calling app, sold standalone as Teams Essentials or bundled in Microsoft 365 plans.
IT admins in Microsoft 365 shops get Entra ID sign-in and Exchange-based chat storage without a separate vendor review. Small firms can buy Teams Essentials at $4.00 per user monthly, billed yearly. Run a pilot on typical laptops, as reviewers report slow, heavy clients.
- Best for
- Organizations already on Microsoft 365 and Entra ID.
- Company size
- Small businesses (Essentials, Business) to enterprises (E3/E5)
Key features
- Channels and threading
- Standard, private and shared channels; up to 1,000 channels per team; teams up to 25,000 members.
- Built-in video and huddles
- Calls from chat up to 20 people; meetings up to 300 people on Essentials and Business plans, up to 1,000 on enterprise plans.
- Search and message history limits
- Chat stored in Exchange Online mailboxes; admin search and hold needs Exchange Online mailbox.
- App integrations and bots
- Teams apps available on Business and Enterprise plans; Loop integrations.
Pros
- Easy to use, strong file sharing and communication features.
- Tight fit with Microsoft 365.
Cons
- Performance issues and heavy resource use.
- Complicated interface, slow loading.
Pricing: $4.00/user/month paid yearly (Teams Essentials) · Free plan
Google Meet
Video meetings built into Google Workspace, with participant limits and recording set by the Workspace edition.
Google Meet is video calling built into Google Workspace, with attendee limits and recording set by the edition. It is a natural choice for teams that already use Calendar and Gmail, with limits from 100 to 1,000 participants.
- Best for
- Teams already on Google Workspace that want meetings tied to Calendar and Gmail.
- Company size
- Starter, Standard and Plus capped at 300 users; Enterprise has no user cap.
Key features
- Participant and meeting length limits
- 100 (Starter), 150 (Standard), 500 (Plus), 1,000 (Enterprise); meetings up to 24 hours.
- Security and compliance
- Google lists FedRAMP, HIPAA and ISO/IEC programs for Workspace; client-side encryption and data regions offered; specific SOC reports not confirmed by the vendor.
- Recording and AI transcription
- Recording to Drive not supported on Starter; included from Standard.
- Calendar and chat integrations
- Native to Google Calendar, Gmail and Chat.
Pros
- Easy to join from a browser with no install.
- Good fit with Calendar and the rest of Workspace.
- Solid audio and video quality for small meetings.
Cons
- Screen sharing glitches reported.
- Recording and time limits on lower tiers.
- Video can pixelate in large calls.
Pricing: $7 per user/month (Business Starter, annual commitment) · Free plan, Free trial
Cisco Webex
Cisco's meetings, calling and events suite aimed at enterprise and hybrid-office rollouts.
Large organizations that prefer one vendor for meetings, calling and room hardware are the realistic buyers. Public pricing is hard to pin down, and third-party sources conflict, so insist on a written quote. Treat reported limits of roughly 100 on Free and 200 on Meet as unconfirmed until the vendor says so.
- Best for
- Enterprises that want meetings plus calling and room hardware from one vendor.
- Company size
- Enterprise focus.
Key features
- Participant and meeting length limits
- Free about 100; paid Meet about 200 per third-party sources; not confirmed by the vendor.
Best for
- Enterprises that want meetings plus calling and room hardware from one vendor.
Not ideal for
- Small teams wanting a transparent price list (figures vary by source)
Pricing: Free plan; paid tiers not published by the vendor (third-party lists Meet about $12 per user/month annual) · Free plan
Slack
Channel-based team chat with huddles and Slack Connect, sold per user in Free, Pro, Business+ and Enterprise+ plans.
Teams that live across many SaaS apps and want strong third-party connections should trial this first. Free works for evaluation only, as it shows 90 days of history and allows ten apps. Business+ is the plan to price if your security team insists on SAML SSO and SCIM.
- Best for
- Teams wanting channel-based chat with a large app ecosystem.
- Company size
- Small teams to large enterprises (Enterprise Grid)
Key features
- Channels and threading
- Channels, threads and huddles; Slack Connect for external 1:1 messaging on Free.
- Built-in video and huddles
- Free: 1:1 huddles only; Pro and up: group huddles/meetings (limits not published on pricing page)
- Search and message history limits
- Free: 90-day visible history and data deleted after 1 year; paid plans longer (retention details not confirmed by the vendor)
- App integrations and bots
- Free plan limited to 10 apps.
Pros
- Very easy to use (G2 ease of use about 9.1)
- Strong app and integration ecosystem.
Cons
- Notification overload and channel sprawl.
- Limited message history on free plan.
Pricing: $8.75/user/month monthly, about $7.25/user/month billed annually (Pro) · Free plan
Costs follow organizers rather than attendees, so a firm with a few hosts and many guests pays little. Professional seats 150 and Business 250, and SSO comes with every plan. Ask whether cloud recording and transcription are limited to Business and Enterprise, and note the Professional price of USD 12.
- Best for
- Small and mid-size businesses that want per-organizer pricing instead of per-attendee.
- Company size
- SMB to mid-market.
Key features
- Participant and meeting length limits
- 150 (Professional), 250 (Business), Enterprise up to 250 per vendor page.
- Security and compliance
- SSO, encrypted sessions, end-to-end encryption, meeting lock; certifications not listed on the page.
- Recording and AI transcription
- Cloud recording and transcription appear to be Business and Enterprise only (inferred from checkmarks)
- Webinars and large events
- Advanced webinar features appear Enterprise only; webinars also sold as a separate product.
Pros
- Easy to use and set up (G2 sub-scores 8.8 and 8.6)
Pricing: USD 12 per organizer/month billed annually (Professional) · Free trial
Connecteam
Employee management app for deskless teams where chat sits alongside scheduling, time tracking, tasks and HR hubs.
Shortlist this one if most of your staff are hourly and never sit at a desk. Chat is just one part of a mobile app that also handles shifts, a time clock and forms. Check the per-hub pricing past 30 users, since G2 reviewers say costs climb with headcount.
- Best for
- Frontline and deskless teams needing scheduling, forms and chat in one mobile app.
- Company size
- Small to mid-size deskless businesses; 80,000+ businesses claimed.
Key features
- Channels and threading
- Group chats and updates; channels and threads not confirmed by the vendor.
- App integrations and bots
- Integrations page exists; specific names not extracted.
- Security and admin controls
- SOC 2 Type 2, ISO 27001, GDPR, CCPA; SSO on Enterprise.
- Mobile app and frontline fit
- Mobile-first app (App Store 4.8, 70,000+ reviews per vendor); shifts, time clock, forms; read receipts for managers.
Pros
- Easy to use.
- Central place for communication and scheduling.
Cons
- Cost can climb as team size grows (G2 summary)
Pricing: Free for up to 10 users; paid from $29/month (Basic, first 30 users) per hub · Free plan, Free trial
Dialpad Meetings
Meetings module of Dialpad's AI communications platform, bundled with calling and messaging.
Makes sense when Dialpad already carries your phone calls and you want video on the same login. SOC 2 Type II, ISO certifications and a one-click BAA help healthcare buyers. Data is stored in the US, and the Large Meetings add-on stretches capacity to 1,500 attendees.
- Best for
- Teams already buying Dialpad for calling that want meetings in the same app.
Key features
- Participant and meeting length limits
- Large Meetings add-on raises limit to 1,500; base limit not stated.
- Security and compliance
- SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001/27017/27018, HIPAA-ready with one-click BAA.
- Recording and AI transcription
- Live AI transcription included; recordings and chat transcripts accessible.
- Calendar and chat integrations
- Microsoft 365 and Google Calendar; Salesforce activity logging.
Pros
- Good audio and video quality.
- Easy to use.
Cons
- Mobile app glitches when switching networks.
Pricing: $15 user/month (Dialpad Connect Standard)
Livestorm
Browser-based webinar and virtual event platform sold by yearly attendee credits rather than per host.
Livestorm is a browser-based webinar and virtual event platform sold by yearly attendee credits. It stands out for recurring webinars with unlimited team members, polls, analytics and events up to 3,000 live attendees.
- Best for
- Marketing teams running recurring webinars with unlimited team members.
- Company size
- Mid-size marketing and events teams to enterprise.
Key features
- Participant and meeting length limits
- 3,000 live attendees per event on Pro and Enterprise; 4 h (Pro) / 12 h (Enterprise)
- Security and compliance
- SAML SSO sold as an add-on.
- Recording and AI transcription
- Recording with start/pause/stop on Pro.
- Webinars and large events
- Core product: webinars and events, unlimited events on Pro.
Pros
- Interactive features such as polls.
- Attendees join in the browser without install.
- Strong analytics.
Cons
- Limited branding and landing page customization on lower tiers.
- Pricey for small teams.
Pricing: Pro from EUR 2.50 per attendee (EUR only) · Free trial
How to choose a Zoom Workplace alternative
Start with what made you look: a missing feature, a team that outgrew the plan or a bill that grew faster than the team. Then compare the shortlist on the points that matter most for this kind of software.
- Channels and threading: Organized channels and threads keep busy conversations searchable and reduce noise.
- Built-in video and huddles: Native calls remove the need for a separate meeting tool.
- Search and message history limits: Free tiers often cap history, which affects compliance and knowledge retrieval.
- App integrations and bots: Connections to project, CRM and helpdesk tools make chat a work hub.
- Guest and external access: Working with clients and contractors requires safe external channels.
- Security and admin controls: SSO, retention policies and audit logs matter for regulated buyers.
Security, admin and contract terms compared
Switching tools means a new security review. This is what Zoom Workplace and each alternative state publicly about single sign-on, provisioning, audit logs and the contract; a blank means the vendor does not say.
| Tool | SAML SSO | SCIM | Audit logs | Contract |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Not published | Not published | Not published | Monthly or annual; quarterly and multi-year prepaid via sales. | |
| Via Microsoft Entra ID, included with the Microsoft 365 tenant (plan-level detail not confirmed by the vendor) | Not published | Not published | Annual subscription; monthly billing option on Business Basic at higher price. | |
| Not published | Not published | Not published | Billed monthly with optional annual commitment; 14-day trial. | |
| Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | |
| Business+ (SAML); Enterprise+ adds multiple SAML configurations. | Business+ and Enterprise+. | Enterprise+ only (per pricing FAQ) | Monthly billing available on Pro and Business+; Enterprise+ by contract. | |
| Appears included in all plans (inferred from checkmarks) | Not published | Not published | Monthly or annual billing; 14-day trial. | |
| Enterprise. | Not published | Not published | Monthly available; 14-day trial. | |
| SAML supported; plan not stated (Enterprise lists SSO) | Supported; plan not stated. | Not published | Not published | |
| Add-on, not in Pro/Enterprise highlights. | Not published | Not published | Yearly attendee pack. |
When to stay with Zoom Workplace
- Teams whose main need is reliable video meetings with chat attached.
- Companies that want recording and AI summaries on every paid seat.
Zoom Workplace alternatives: frequently asked questions
What is the best alternative to Zoom Workplace?
Microsoft Teams is the closest alternative for most teams: organizations already on Microsoft 365 and Entra ID. Google Meet suits teams that teams already on Google Workspace that want meetings tied to Calendar and Gmail.
Is there a free alternative to Zoom Workplace?
Microsoft Teams, Google Meet, Cisco Webex, Slack and Connecteam offer a free plan. Free plans usually cap users, features or history, so check the limits against your team size.
What is cheaper than Zoom Workplace?
For 20 users on the cheapest plan that fits, Microsoft Teams ($960 a year), Google Meet ($1,680 a year) and Slack ($1,740 a year) cost less than Zoom Workplace ($3,398 a year), based on published list prices.