
Toggl Track review (2026): features, pros and cons, and what to check before you buy
Simple time tracking with timers, reports and optional capacity planning, sold per user with a small free tier.
Our take for buyers
Toggl Track is a time tracker with real-time and manual timers, timesheet reports, billable rates and built-in invoicing, plus optional capacity planning. Shortlist it for small teams, agencies and professional services firms that want fast timers and clean reports, and for teams that want SSO without enterprise pricing. G2 shows 4.6 from 1,589 reviews, with praise for ease of use and project and task tracking.
Reviewers say invoicing is weaker than competitors, the free plan feels restrictive, and some doubt the product's direction. The vendor does not describe attendance or labor-law compliance tracking, so it is not a fit for strict compliance needs. The vendor states it offers no screenshots or keystroke monitoring, which helps if employee acceptance matters.
Pros
- Very easy to use, quick timers.
- Good project and task time tracking.
Cons
- Invoicing is weaker than competitors.
- Free plan limits feel restrictive.
- Some reviewers doubt product direction.
- Best for
- Small teams and freelancers that want quick timers and clean reports.
- Starting price
- $9 per user/month billed annually (Starter)
- G2 rating
- 4.6 (1,589 reviews)
What is Toggl Track?
Simple time tracking with timers, reports and optional capacity planning, sold per user with a small free tier. Freelancers and agencies who value a clean timer and readable reports will find it quick to adopt. Free covers only 3 users, and Premium adds SSO. Run your own invoice test in a trial, since G2 points to invoicing as weaker than rivals, and no attendance rules are described.
Category: Time Tracking Software
Toggl Track key features
| Criterion | What we found |
|---|---|
| Timers and timesheets | Manual and real-time timers, calendar integrations, timesheet reports. |
| Billable rates and invoicing | Billable rates (6-minute increments), revenue and profitability reports, built-in invoicing. |
| Project budgets and reporting | Estimated vs actual time tracking; no dedicated budget feature described. |
| Payroll and accounting integrations | Not specified on product page; integrations include Jira, Asana, Notion, Slack, plus API. |
| Attendance and compliance | Not described; time off management via paid Time Off Pro add-on. |
| Mobile app and offline use | IOS and Android apps, desktop apps for Windows and Mac, browser extensions; offline use not confirmed by the vendor. |
| Pricing model | Per user; free up to 3 users; Starter and Premium tiers. |
| Target company size | Freelancers to mid-size teams; Enterprise plan for larger orgs. |
Toggl Track plans and pricing
| Plan | Price | Unit | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | per user/month | Up to 3 users per FAQ |
| Starter | $9 annual / $12 monthly | per user/month | 30-day trial |
| Premium | $16 annual / $24 monthly | per user/month | Includes SSO; 30-day trial |
| Enterprise | Contact sales | Priority support, CSM, personalized onboarding |
The vendor page does not clearly label which price set is monthly; the annual/monthly split is estimated from the billing toggle and the 'save up to 33%' text. Add-ons: Time Off Pro $2/user/month; Capacity Management $6 monthly or $5 annual per user.
Who should shortlist Toggl Track
A strong fit for
- Small teams and freelancers that want quick timers and clean reports.
- Agencies and professional services that need billable rates and profitability reports.
- Teams that want SSO without going to enterprise (Premium)
A weak fit for
- Teams over 3 users wanting a free plan.
- Businesses needing strict attendance or labor-law compliance tracking, which the vendor does not describe.
- Users who need strong invoicing, a G2 weak spot.
Toggl Track alternatives
ClockifyBudget-conscious teams that want unlimited free tracking.
HarvestAgencies and consultancies that bill clients by the hour from tracked time.
HubstaffRemote and distributed teams that pay contractors across countries (Gusto, Deel, Wise, PayPal listed)
EverhourSmall agencies and project teams that track time inside Asana, Trello, Jira or similar tools.
TimeCampSmall teams that want a free plan with unlimited users and projects.
QuickBooks TimeExisting QuickBooks Online users syncing hours to payroll and accounting.
Security, admin and compliance
Toggl Track lists SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001. SSO is available on Premium and Enterprise. Audit logs appear in the feature comparison, but the plan that includes them is not confirmed. SCIM, data residency and a DPA are not published. Enterprise adds priority support, a customer success manager and personalized onboarding; support on other tiers is not described. Monthly plans are available. Ask for the audit log plan, a DPA and the SOC 2 report before buying.
- SAML SSO
- Premium and Enterprise.
- Audit logs
- Listed in feature comparison; plan not confirmed.
- Certifications
- SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001.
Contract and buying terms
- Contract
- Monthly plans available (monthly prices published); 30-day trial on Starter and Premium.
- Implementation
- Enterprise: personalized onboarding and dedicated CSM.
- Support
- Enterprise gets priority support and a customer success manager; other tiers not described.
- Starting price
- $9 per user/month billed annually (Starter)
- Pricing model
- Per user.
- Free plan or trial
- Free plan, Free trial.
What to test in a Toggl Track demo or trial
Test the daily experience first: timers on web, desktop and mobile, and the calendar and Jira, Asana, Notion and Slack integrations your team uses. Then check the reports finance cares about, billable rates in 6-minute increments and the profitability view. Because invoicing draws complaints, run a real client invoice through it and compare with your current process. Both Starter and Premium offer a 30-day trial, so trial Premium if you need SSO. If you need time off or capacity planning, trial those add-ons too, and note that payroll integrations are not specified.
Questions to ask Toggl Track before you sign
These are the points Toggl Track's public pages leave open. Get the answers in writing before procurement signs off.
- Is SCIM provisioning included, or a paid add-on?
- Where is our data stored, and can we choose the region?
- Can we sign your standard DPA without changes?
- What will the price be at renewal, and is the increase capped?
Things to know before a demo
- Free plan is capped at 3 users per the pricing FAQ.
- SSO is included from Premium, not only Enterprise.
- Time off and capacity planning are separate paid add-ons ($2 and $5 to $6 per user/month)
- Vendor states no screenshots or keystroke monitoring.
- Offers an MCP server and API for AI tool connections.
Head-to-head comparisons
Toggl Track FAQ
What is Toggl Track used for?
Freelancers and agencies who value a clean timer and readable reports will find it quick to adopt. Free covers only 3 users, and Premium adds SSO. Run your own invoice test in a trial, since G2 points to invoicing as weaker than rivals, and no attendance rules are described. It suits small teams and freelancers that want quick timers and clean reports.
Does Toggl Track support SSO?
Yes, SSO is included on Premium and Enterprise, so you do not need an enterprise contract. SCIM support is not published.
Who is Toggl Track best for?
Small teams and freelancers that want quick timers and clean reports, agencies and professional services firms that need billable rates and profitability reports, and teams that want SSO on Premium.
Does Toggl Track monitor employees with screenshots?
No. The vendor states it does not use screenshots or keystroke monitoring. It also does not describe attendance or labor-law compliance tracking.
Sources
Every fact on this page comes from Toggl Track's own pricing, product or documentation pages, G2 and company records, checked on October 24, 2026. Unknown values are left out instead of estimated.