Jamf Pro alternatives (2026): 8 tools compared for buyers
Looking for an alternative to Jamf Pro? These 8 tools do the same job with a different focus. Each one is compared on who it suits, its key features, pros and cons, and what each vendor publishes on security, admin and contract terms.
Why buyers look beyond Jamf Pro
- Steep learning curve.
- Price can be high, especially for education.
- Windows-heavy fleets.
- Very small teams with a tight budget (reviewers call it pricey)
From Jamf Pro's published plan limits and recurring themes in public reviews. See the Jamf Pro review for the full picture.
Jamf Pro alternatives at a glance
| Tool | Best for | Starting price | Free plan or trial |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mid-size and large Apple-centric fleets with a dedicated Mac admin. | Contact sales | Free trial | |
| Schools and small businesses managing only Apple devices. | Free up to 30 devices; $1.00 per device per month (Business Premium) | Free plan, Free trial | |
| Companies already on Microsoft 365 E3 or E5, where Intune Plan 1 is already included. | $8.00 per user per month (Intune Plan 1 standalone) | No | |
| Small and mid-size mixed-OS fleets that want public per-device pricing. | $2.20 per device per month (Pro) | Free trial | |
| Large enterprises with mixed fleets including Windows, macOS, iOS, Android, ChromeOS and Linux. | Contact sales | No | |
| Small and mid-size IT teams that want directory, SSO and MDM from one vendor. | $9 per user per month billed annually (Device Management package) | Free trial | |
| MSPs and IT teams managing mostly Windows/Mac endpoints that want RMM plus MDM. | Contact sales (rates cited from $3.75 per endpoint at 50 or fewer down to $1.50 at 10,000) | Free trial | |
| Small and mid-size IT teams that want published per-device prices. | $2 per device per month (Essential, billed annually) | Free trial | |
| Mid-size and large fleets that want tiered per-device editions with published list prices. | From $1.50 per device per month (Fast Start); from $4.24 (Essentials) list | Free trial |
The 8 best Jamf Pro alternatives
Mosyle
Apple-only device management with a free tier for 30 devices and paid plans from $1 per device per month.
Schools and small businesses that run only Apple hardware can manage 30 devices free, with paid plans from $1 per device monthly. Switchers get a 6-month side-by-side trial. Windows and Android are out of scope, and data sits in US Azure, which matters if you need EU hosting.
- Best for
- Schools and small businesses managing only Apple devices.
- Company size
- Small business and education.
Key features
- OS and device coverage
- MacOS, iOS, iPadOS, visionOS, tvOS, watchOS (Apple only)
- Security policy and compliance enforcement
- Endpoint security in Fuse (feature mapping not confirmed by the vendor)
- App distribution and management
- Apps and patch management listed on pricing page.
- Identity and Microsoft 365 integration
- Okta and Ping SSO on admin portals (2021 report); macOS identity and SSO in Fuse.
Pros
- Exceptional customer support.
- Strong requirements coverage.
Cons
- Setup can be difficult.
- Weak multi-system support (Apple only)
Pricing: Free up to 30 devices; $1.00 per device per month (Business Premium) · Free plan, Free trial
Microsoft Intune
Microsoft's cloud endpoint manager for Windows, macOS, iOS, Android, Linux and ChromeOS, sold standalone or bundled in Microsoft 365 E3 and E5.
Organizations holding Microsoft 365 E3 or E5 already own Plan 1, so the first check is whether current licensing covers you. Windows Autopilot, Apple automated enrollment and Entra conditional access are supported. Remote Help costs extra, and reviewers find licensing across plans confusing.
- Best for
- Companies already on Microsoft 365 E3 or E5, where Intune Plan 1 is already included.
- Company size
- Any size; strongest fit for Microsoft 365 organizations.
Key features
- OS and device coverage
- Windows, macOS, iOS/iPadOS, Android (Enterprise and AOSP), Linux (Ubuntu 24.04/26.04, RHEL 9/10), ChromeOS.
- Zero-touch enrollment
- Apple automated device enrollment, Android Enterprise, Windows Autopilot, Samsung Knox Mobile Enrollment (per Microsoft docs)
- Security policy and compliance enforcement
- Compliance policies and conditional access with Entra ID; app protection policies not supported on ChromeOS.
- App distribution and management
- App deployment; Enterprise Application Management add-on ($2.00/user/month) adds a hosted app catalog.
Pros
- Tight fit with Microsoft 365, Entra and conditional access.
- Strong requirements coverage and app protection features.
Cons
- Admin console and licensing can be confusing across plans and add-ons.
- Support rated lower than product features on G2 sub-scores (8.4 of 10)
Pricing: $8.00 per user per month (Intune Plan 1 standalone)
Hexnode
Per-device UEM from Mitsogo with four public tiers from $2.20 per device per month and a 14-day trial.
Teams of 15 devices or more that want public per-device rates, from $2.20 monthly, can try it for 14 days. Kiosk mode comes in the entry plan, which helps frontline rollouts. Windows and macOS management starts in higher tiers, and patching appears only in Ultra. An MSP edition exists.
- Best for
- Small and mid-size mixed-OS fleets that want public per-device pricing.
- Company size
- Small to mid-size (starts at 15 devices); MSP edition available.
Key features
- OS and device coverage
- Mobile in all tiers; Windows and macOS management arrives in Enterprise (basic) and Ultimate/Ultra.
- Zero-touch enrollment
- Apple Business Manager, Android Enterprise, ZTE Knox in Pro; Windows Autopilot in Ultimate.
- Security policy and compliance enforcement
- BitLocker only in Ultra; FileVault in Ultimate.
- App distribution and management
- Mobile app management in Pro; Windows/Mac app management in Ultimate.
Pros
- Strong device management and support sub-scores on G2 (9.3 and 9.2 of 10)
- Public per-device pricing.
Pricing: $2.20 per device per month (Pro) · Free trial
Omnissa Workspace One
Enterprise unified endpoint management suite, formerly VMware Workspace ONE, covering mobile, desktop and virtual endpoints.
Rebranded: Workspace ONE was VMware's product; the End-User Computing unit was sold by Broadcom to KKR (about $4B) and relaunched as Omnissa on 2024-07-01.
Large enterprises running Windows, macOS, mobile, rugged and kiosk devices side by side, often with Horizon virtual desktops, are the target. Licensing goes through resellers on quotes. Since the move from VMware to Omnissa, reviewers say support slipped, so ask for references and a support SLA.
- Best for
- Large enterprises with mixed fleets including Windows, macOS, iOS, Android, ChromeOS and Linux.
- Company size
- Enterprise.
Key features
- OS and device coverage
- Windows, macOS, iOS, Android, ChromeOS, Linux; also rugged, IoT/XR, kiosks, printers.
- Zero-touch enrollment
- Vendor mentions zero-touch onboarding in automated lifecycle workflows.
- Security policy and compliance enforcement
- Automated compliance workflows with conditional access signals.
- Identity and Microsoft 365 integration
- Microsoft Entra integration not described on the UEM page.
Pros
- Broad device and OS management.
- Automation tooling.
Cons
- Support and documentation reportedly declined after the VMware to Omnissa move.
- Clumsy interface.
- Opaque, reseller-driven pricing.
Pricing: Contact sales
JumpCloud
Cloud directory and identity platform that bundles MDM, SSO and device management, priced per user per month with public module prices.
IT teams who want directory, SSO and device management from a single vendor can buy modules at published per-user prices, with Device Management from $9 monthly. Platform Essentials stops at 300 users. Anyone expecting endpoint protection or DLP will need another product, as reviewers note.
- Best for
- Small and mid-size IT teams that want directory, SSO and MDM from one vendor.
- Company size
- Small to mid-size; Platform Essentials limited to 300 users.
Key features
- Security policy and compliance enforcement
- Conditional access / zero trust module $3 per user.
- App distribution and management
- Software management not priced on page.
- Remote lock, wipe and support
- Remote Access module $3 per user.
- Identity and Microsoft 365 integration
- Native directory and SSO; core product.
Pros
- Easy setup and centralized management.
Cons
- Pricing for education buyers.
- No DLP or endpoint protection.
Pricing: $9 per user per month billed annually (Device Management package) · Free trial
NinjaOne
RMM and endpoint management platform for MSPs and IT teams, quote-based per-endpoint pricing with MDM as a selectable product.
MSPs and internal IT teams that already want remote monitoring and management can add mobile management as an optional product, priced per endpoint on a quote. Rates quoted range from $3.75 down to $1.50 by volume. Mobile-heavy buyers should test the mobile side, which reviewers call limited.
- Best for
- MSPs and IT teams managing mostly Windows/Mac endpoints that want RMM plus MDM.
- Company size
- Small to enterprise, strong MSP base.
Pros
- Clean dashboard and navigation.
- Automated updates, alerts and customer support.
Cons
- Limited mobile app and mobile device management.
- Weak search and missing client portal features.
Pricing: Contact sales (rates cited from $3.75 per endpoint at 50 or fewer down to $1.50 at 10,000) · Free trial
Scalefusion
Device management platform with public per-device pricing, extended with identity and security add-on products.
Small IT teams that like seeing prices up front can start at $2 per device monthly, billed yearly with a 10-device minimum. It handles Windows, macOS, iOS, Android, Linux and ChromeOS, and kiosk deployments are a strength. Identity and security are separate add-ons, so total the full stack.
- Best for
- Small and mid-size IT teams that want published per-device prices.
- Company size
- SMB to enterprise.
Key features
- OS and device coverage
- Windows, macOS, iOS, Android, Linux, ChromeOS, Android TV, Apple TV.
- Security policy and compliance enforcement
- Veltar security add-on (from $3 per device per month)
- Identity and Microsoft 365 integration
- OneIdP (Access Core $4, Access Pro $5 per device per month; Pro adds conditional SSO)
Pros
- Responsive support.
- Easy setup and use.
- Strong kiosk and data-separation controls.
Cons
- Learning curve and unclear documentation for complex setups.
- Limited Linux, ChromeOS and mobile app management per G2 summary.
Pricing: $2 per device per month (Essential, billed annually) · Free trial
IBM MaaS360
Cloud UEM and MDM platform from IBM, sold per device per month in tiered editions from basic to enterprise.
Mid-size and large fleets mixing several operating systems can compare six per-device tiers, with list prices from $1.50 monthly at Fast Start and $4.24 at Essentials. A 30-day trial is available. Give admins real tasks in it, since reviewers describe a dated console and a steep learning curve.
- Best for
- Mid-size and large fleets that want tiered per-device editions with published list prices.
- Company size
- SMB (Fast Start) to enterprise.
Key features
- OS and device coverage
- Multi-OS (phones, tablets, laptops); specific OS list not on pricing page.
- Security policy and compliance enforcement
- Automated compliance; Premier adds app security.
- App distribution and management
- Mobile app management from Fast Start; patching in Enterprise.
- Remote lock, wipe and support
- TeamViewer remote support is a paid add-on on Essentials to Enterprise.
Pros
- Easy to use once set up.
- Centralized multi-platform management.
- Strong security controls.
Cons
- Steep learning curve and dated interface.
- Cost higher than some alternatives.
- Some performance slowness.
Pricing: From $1.50 per device per month (Fast Start); from $4.24 (Essentials) list · Free trial
How to choose a Jamf Pro alternative
Start with what made you look: a missing feature, a team that outgrew the plan or a bill that grew faster than the team. Then compare the shortlist on the points that matter most for this kind of software.
- OS and device coverage: Apple-only, Android-heavy and mixed fleets need different tools.
- Zero-touch enrollment: Apple ABM, Android Enterprise and Autopilot let devices ship pre-configured.
- Security policy and compliance enforcement: Passcodes, encryption and conditional access reduce data loss risk.
- App distribution and management: Pushes required apps and controls the rest.
- Remote lock, wipe and support: Limits damage from lost or stolen devices.
- Identity and Microsoft 365 integration: Ties device compliance to access policies.
Security, admin and contract terms compared
Switching tools means a new security review. This is what Jamf Pro and each alternative state publicly about single sign-on, provisioning, audit logs and the contract; a blank means the vendor does not say.
| Tool | SAML SSO | SCIM | Audit logs | Contract |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| SAML (all Jamf Pro) and OIDC (Jamf Cloud with Jamf Account); plan mapping not published. | No native SCIM confirmed; third-party Veraproof Scimify on Jamf Marketplace. | Not published | Not published; 14-day trial available. | |
| Okta and Ping Identity supported for admin portals (9to5Mac, 2021); plan mapping not confirmed by the vendor. | Not published | Not published | Annual; free tier available. | |
| Via Microsoft Entra ID; plan mapping not confirmed by the vendor. | Not published | Not published | Annual billing with auto-renewal per pricing page; Contact Sales for custom agreements. | |
| Admin login via Google, Entra ID, Okta; Ultimate lists basic Okta SSO; generic SAML not supported per forum. | Not published | Not published | Monthly or annual; 14-day trial, no card. | |
| Not published | Not published | Not published | Prepaid 12, 24 or 36 month terms via resellers (Mobile Essentials) | |
| SSO package $11, or SSO module $3 per user; platform tiers quote only. | Not stated on pricing page. | Directory Insights $3 per user add-on. | Monthly plans available; 30-day trial. | |
| Listed as a control on trust center; plan mapping not published. | Not published | Not published | Month-to-month case by case; commitment discounts available. | |
| Via OneIdP add-on; conditional SSO in Access Pro. | Not published | Activity logs listed under Access Core; plan for UEM audit logs not stated. | Annual billing only; 14-day free trial. | |
| Not published | Not published | Not published | Billing term not stated on pricing page; 30-day free trial. |
When to stay with Jamf Pro
- Mid-size and large Apple-centric fleets with a dedicated Mac admin.
- Schools and enterprises that want same-day Apple OS feature support.
Jamf Pro alternatives: frequently asked questions
What is the best alternative to Jamf Pro?
Mosyle is the closest alternative for most teams: schools and small businesses managing only Apple devices. Microsoft Intune suits teams that companies already on Microsoft 365 E3 or E5, where Intune Plan 1 is already included.
Is there a free alternative to Jamf Pro?
Mosyle offers a free plan. Free plans usually cap users, features or history, so check the limits against your team size.