Otter.ai alternatives (2026): 8 tools compared for buyers

Looking for an alternative to Otter.ai? These 8 tools do the same job with a different focus. Each one is compared on who it suits, its key features, pros and cons, and what each vendor publishes on security, admin and contract terms.

Researched by Max Benz · Facts checked October 24, 2026 · How we research

Why buyers look beyond Otter.ai

  • Free and Pro minute caps are tight.
  • Review counts and pricing details are confusing on higher tiers.
  • Teams under 100 users that need SSO or SCIM.
  • Teams needing botless capture.

From Otter.ai's published plan limits and recurring themes in public reviews. See the Otter.ai review for the full picture.

Otter.ai alternatives at a glance

Otter.ai and 8 alternatives, checked October 24, 2026
ToolBest forStarting priceFree plan or trial
Otter.ai CurrentIndividuals and small teams wanting a free or low-cost transcription tool.Free (Basic); Pro $8.33/user/month billed annuallyFree plan
Fireflies.aiTeams wanting broad integrations and a free tier.Free; Pro $10/user/month billed annually (third-party reported)Free plan
FathomIndividuals and small teams wanting unlimited free recording.Free; Team $15/user/month annualFree plan, Free trial
AvomaSales and customer success teams wanting meeting notes plus coaching.$19/user/month billed annually (Startup)Free trial
tl;dvTeams that want EU-hosted meeting data and a low per-seat price.$18 per seat/month billed annually (Pro)Free plan
Read AITeams that want meetings, email and messages summarized in one tool.$15 per user/month billed annually (Pro)Free plan
GongSales orgs with budget for a CRM-connected revenue platform.Contact salesNo
FellowTeams that want agendas, notes and follow-ups in one tool.$7 per user/month billed annually (Team)Free plan, Free trial
KrispTeams on Zoom/Meet/Teams who want notes without a bot in the call.$8 per user/month billed annually (Core)Free trial

The 8 best Otter.ai alternatives

1

Fireflies.ai

AI meeting notetaker with free, Pro, Business and Enterprise tiers; prices shown here come from third-party write-ups.

Teams that record many sales or recruiting calls and want lots of connectors will find it on most shortlists. Verify credit and storage rules in a trial, since they are hard to read. Enterprise adds private storage, custom retention and audit logs.

Best for
Teams wanting broad integrations and a free tier.
Company size
Individuals to enterprise.

Key features

Meeting platform support
Video conferencing, dialers, Chrome extension (vendor nav)
Summaries and action items
AI Assistant, Conversation Intelligence, Live Assist (per vendor site)
CRM and workflow integrations
CRM, dialer and collaboration integrations plus API.
Privacy and security
Trust Center lists SOC 2, HIPAA, GDPR; Enterprise has private storage, custom retention, audit logs.

Pros

  • Good value and many integrations.
  • Highly rated on G2 with a large review base.

Cons

  • Storage and credit rules are hard to understand.
  • Prices not shown on the vendor page.

Pricing: Free; Pro $10/user/month billed annually (third-party reported) · Free plan

2

Fathom

AI notetaker with an unlimited free plan for recording and transcription, paid Premium, Team and Business tiers, and SSO and SCIM on Enterprise.

Solo users and small teams can record and transcribe without paying, which makes a trial easy to run. Sales managers should look at Business for CRM field sync, while anyone needing SSO or SCIM must ask about Enterprise, where no price is published.

Best for
Individuals and small teams wanting unlimited free recording.
Company size
Individuals through teams; Enterprise for large orgs.

Key features

Summaries and action items
Instant AI summaries free; advanced summaries and AI action items on Premium.
CRM and workflow integrations
CRM field sync and Deal View on Business.

Pros

  • Generous free plan.
  • Accurate summaries (G2 reviewers)

Cons

  • Feature limits on lower tiers not clearly mapped.
  • Enterprise price not public.

Pricing: Free; Team $15/user/month annual · Free plan, Free trial

3

Avoma

Meeting assistant plus conversation and revenue intelligence for sales teams, priced per recorder seat with separately priced add-ons.

Sales and customer success managers who want coaching on top of notes should demo it, ideally with fewer than 100 seats. Price the add-ons before signing, as conversation and revenue intelligence start at $29 per seat. Data sits on AWS in the US.

Best for
Sales and customer success teams wanting meeting notes plus coaching.
Company size
Startup up to 25 seats, Organization up to 100, Enterprise 10+.

Key features

Transcription accuracy and languages
Reviewers note occasional errors with accents or poor audio.
Summaries and action items
Ask Avoma search; notes and action items (G2 reviewers)
CRM and workflow integrations
Lead Router add-on; conversation and revenue intelligence add-ons.
Privacy and security
SOC 2 Type II, ISO/IEC 42001:2023, GDPR support; hosted in AWS US.

Pros

  • Integrations and insight extraction.
  • Time saved via auto transcription.

Cons

  • Conversation and revenue intelligence add-ons are costly.
  • Transcription varies with accents.

Pricing: $19/user/month billed annually (Startup) · Free trial

4

tl;dv

Meeting recorder and AI note taker for Zoom, Google Meet and Teams with EU-hosted data, sold per seat with a free tier.

tl;dv records and summarizes calls on Zoom, Google Meet and Teams, with data stored in the EU. It is sold per seat with a free tier and lists SOC 2 and GDPR, and it suits customer-facing teams that want call libraries.

Best for
Teams that want EU-hosted meeting data and a low per-seat price.
Company size
Individuals through mid-market teams (no enterprise tier on the vendor pricing page)

Key features

Transcription accuracy and languages
30+ languages and dialects per vendor homepage; no accuracy figure published.
Meeting platform support
Zoom, Google Meet, Microsoft Teams.
Summaries and action items
AI summaries, highlights and action items (vendor homepage)
CRM and workflow integrations
Vendor claims 5,000+ tools via integrations.

Pros

  • Low per-seat price versus most competitors.
  • EU-based hosting appeals to European buyers.

Cons

  • Not stated: no review themes verified.

Pricing: $18 per seat/month billed annually (Pro) · Free plan

5

Read AI

Cross-platform meeting, email and chat summarizer with a free tier and a SAML/SCIM tier only on its top plan.

Worth a look if you want one summarizer across meetings, email and chat, and the $15 Pro plan fits a tight budget. Security buyers should note that SAML and SCIM appear only on the top plan, and Enterprise requires at least five licenses.

Best for
Teams that want meetings, email and messages summarized in one tool.
Company size
Individuals to enterprise; Enterprise needs 5+ licenses.

Key features

Transcription accuracy and languages
Meeting reports in 16+ languages (Free plan page says 20+; inconsistent)
Meeting platform support
Zoom, Microsoft Teams, Google Meet; desktop apps and mobile for in-person.
Summaries and action items
Summaries, highlights, action items, sentiment (G2 reviewers)
CRM and workflow integrations
Salesforce, HubSpot, Notion, Jira, Confluence, Zapier, webhooks on Pro and up.

Pros

  • Automatic summaries and action items replace manual notes.
  • Sentiment and engagement analysis.

Cons

  • Summaries can miss subtle context in fast discussions.
  • Support score on G2 comparison lower than peers.

Pricing: $15 per user/month billed annually (Pro) · Free plan

6

Gong

Revenue intelligence platform that records and analyzes sales calls; priced per user plus a platform fee via quote only.

Sales leaders with budget and a connected CRM should evaluate it for call analytics, forecasting and coaching in one place. Expect a quote with a per-user licence plus platform fee on annual terms, so it is poor value for plain meeting notes.

Best for
Sales orgs with budget for a CRM-connected revenue platform.
Company size
Mid-market and enterprise sales teams.

Key features

Transcription accuracy and languages
Multilingual capabilities claimed, languages not specified on homepage.
Summaries and action items
Call summaries, deal and forecast intelligence; Engage, Forecast, Enable, Agents products.
Privacy and security
SOC 2 Type 2, ISO 27001/27017/27018/27701/42001, PCI DSS SAQ-D, CSA STAR, EU-US DPF; data never used to train generative models.

Pros

  • Strong conversation intelligence and call analysis.
  • Highly rated by sales users.

Cons

  • Not confirmed by the vendor; third parties cite high cost and platform fees.

Pricing: Contact sales

7

Fellow

Meeting assistant that combines agendas, AI notes and action-item tracking, with Slack, CRM and Notion sync.

Pick it when meeting prep matters as much as the notes, since agendas, AI summaries and follow-up tracking live together. Check the seat ceilings during rollout: Team stops at 20 users and Business at 50, after which Enterprise pricing applies.

Best for
Teams that want agendas, notes and follow-ups in one tool.
Company size
Small teams to enterprise; Team caps at 20 seats, Business at 50.

Key features

Meeting platform support
Zoom, Google Meet, Microsoft Teams (plus Slack)
Summaries and action items
AI notes, summaries and action items; pre-meeting agendas.
CRM and workflow integrations
Salesforce and HubSpot on Business; Confluence and Notion on Team; Slack on Free.
Privacy and security
Hosted on AWS; Enterprise adds transcript redaction and recording permissions; certifications not confirmed by the vendor.

Pros

  • Clean interface and automated note taking (G2 summary)
  • High support and setup scores on G2.

Pricing: $7 per user/month billed annually (Team) · Free plan, Free trial

8

Krisp

Noise cancellation and accent conversion software that added a bot-free AI meeting assistant for transcripts and notes.

Consider it if people dislike a bot appearing in calls, because capture happens locally on each device. The product grew out of noise cancellation, so test CRM depth if that matters. Call centers can look at the separate per-agent plan.

Best for
Teams on Zoom/Meet/Teams who want notes without a bot in the call.
Company size
Individuals to enterprise and call centers.

Key features

Transcription accuracy and languages
About 17 languages per a 2026 third-party review; speaker IDs and timestamps.
Meeting platform support
Works across apps on desktop (Zoom, Teams, Meet) and in-person via mobile app.
Summaries and action items
Transcripts, summaries and action items.
Privacy and security
Voice processed on device for noise cancelling; AI Meeting Assistant stores transcripts and recordings in Krisp cloud; certifications on trust.krisp.ai (not retrievable)

Pros

  • Strong noise cancellation and ease of use.
  • No visible bot in meetings.

Cons

  • Occasional software glitches.
  • Limited free trial minutes.
  • Inconsistent microphone connectivity.

Pricing: $8 per user/month billed annually (Core) · Free trial

How to choose an Otter.ai alternative

Start with what made you look: a missing feature, a team that outgrew the plan or a bill that grew faster than the team. Then compare the shortlist on the points that matter most for this kind of software.

  • Target company size: Individuals, sales teams and enterprises with compliance needs choose differently.
  • Transcription accuracy and languages: Accuracy, speaker labels and language support drive trust in the notes.
  • Meeting platform support: Coverage of Zoom, Meet, Teams and in-person or phone calls varies.
  • Summaries and action items: Quality of structured outputs is the core value.
  • CRM and workflow integrations: Pushing notes to Salesforce, HubSpot, Slack or Notion saves manual updates.
  • Privacy and security: Data retention, training use and SOC 2 or GDPR status matter for sensitive meetings.

Security, admin and contract terms compared

Switching tools means a new security review. This is what Otter.ai and each alternative state publicly about single sign-on, provisioning, audit logs and the contract; a blank means the vendor does not say.

Checked October 24, 2026
ToolSAML SSOSCIMAudit logsContract
Otter.aiEnterprise only (100-user minimum)Enterprise only (100-user minimum)Not publishedMonthly plans available on Pro and Business.
Fireflies.aiEnterprise (vendor says contact for SSO; third-party sources say Enterprise)Enterprise.Enterprise (listed in vendor Enterprise features)Monthly available on Pro and Business per third parties.
FathomEnterprise only.Enterprise only.Not publishedMonthly available; 90 day guarantee.
AvomaEnterprise (SAML/OIDC)Listed in security section, plan not assigned.Not publishedMonthly available on Startup and Organization; Enterprise annual only.
tl;dvNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedMonthly plans available at higher price.
Read AIEnterprise+ only (SAML)Enterprise+ only.Not publishedMonthly plans available.
GongNot publishedNot publishedAccess to customer data is logged and auditable (security page); plan not stated.Annual; no monthly plan known.
FellowEnterprise (Okta and OneLogin listed)Unconfirmed (Enterprise lists 'user provisioning')Not publishedMonthly plan available; payment by card, check or bank transfer.
KrispEnterprise (Meeting AI); included in Call Center AI Core.Call Center AI Core; Meeting AI Enterprise unconfirmed.Not publishedMonthly available; invoices for Enterprise.

When to stay with Otter.ai

  • Individuals and small teams wanting a free or low-cost transcription tool.
  • Sales teams using Otter Sales Notetaker.

Otter.ai alternatives: frequently asked questions

What is the best alternative to Otter.ai?

Fireflies.ai is the closest alternative for most teams: teams wanting broad integrations and a free tier. Fathom suits teams that individuals and small teams wanting unlimited free recording.

Is there a free alternative to Otter.ai?

Fireflies.ai, Fathom, tl;dv, Read AI and Fellow offer a free plan. Free plans usually cap users, features or history, so check the limits against your team size.

What is cheaper than Otter.ai?

For 20 users on the cheapest plan that fits, Fellow ($1,680 a year), Krisp ($1,920 a year) and Fireflies.ai ($2,400 a year) cost less than Otter.ai ($4,798 a year), based on published list prices.